Pineapple Tart Mould

I promise to write abt my new baking toy but work once again caught up and I only manage to leave the office only at 3.30am in the morning and back to work by 10am the next day. So much abt work which is going to be different again next year, for the better or worse I dunno. Well, I shall stop here about work as this blog is strictly about my baking journey and the joy that I get.

Got good reviews on the chocolate chip cookies I give out even from my picky manager and it’s still as crunchy after several days. Thanks to sis who gave me the idea to add in the colorful quinns for a more Xmas season touch.

Oh … back to my new baking toy … it’s a pineapple tart mould! Yes, you see dozens of this in plastic anywhere but they dun give very good pattern after several use, u have to consistently brush the mould. My mood always get dampen when I see they dun “print” nicely. Pressing them after several hours and your palm hurts too. This new mould is made of copper! As you can see that the “engrave” is very deep and sure produce very nicely print tarts. It’s pretty heavy hence it will automatically weigh the mould down to the dough hence you won’t need to press. When you lift up the mould, it will also push the tart out so you just have to peel it away. Sounds good? And this need to be season too, suppose to soak this in oil for 1 day, then run under tap water to wash and it’s good to keep. Can’t wait to buy some pineapple paste and start trying this mould. I shld start early this year to try out different dough. The price to pay? Few bottle of good pineapple tarts, I tell myself I must be crazy to buy this.

 

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking tools. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Pineapple Tart Mould

  1. Yvonne says:

    Where do you get the pineapple mould?

  2. cadenze says:

    Woah… that looks like a very interesting mould you have there. Trust you to be able to find such interesting moulds. :P

    I’m raring to start making the pineapple tarts too, but I need my hubby to help me with the pineapples, so guess I’ll have to wait till he’s off on a weekend.

  3. Elyn says:

    Hi Yvonne,
    Sorry for the late reply. You could get this from Ailin @ Tanjong Katong Complex.

    Hi Cadenze,
    I was at Kwang Siang Thye today and saw similar moulds, bigger in sizes and also the other type which is made of stainless steel with a push button on the top (shape like a pen). I’m too lazy to make my own pineapple paste so I got mine from Bake King :P

  4. cadenze says:

    Hi Elyn,

    thanks for the reply! I haven’t been back to this post to check either.

    Regarding Valerie’s kueh lapis recipe, I can’t answer you on my blog coz her daughter reads my blog.

    My recipe is now really messy with my notes. When I have the time to type it out, I’ll email it to you ok?

    Cheers!

  5. Elyn says:

    Cadenze,

    No problem! I found another recipe and make my first attempt! Happy Baking!

  6. collin says:

    Hi Elyn,
    By the way how much is the mould?and do u have the person contact?
    my mum has been looking for it for a long time.

  7. Elyn says:

    Hi collin, I bought this from Ailin Bakery @ Tanjong Katong Complex for S$55.

  8. Felix Chia says:

    Hi there,

    May I ask if you’ve used the mold to make some pineapple tarts yet? Which part of this mold is adjustable may I ask? I can’t find the traditional wood/copper pen like ones anymore.

    Warmest Regards,
    Felix Chia

Leave a Reply

