Almond Crisps

This is one of my favourite! Had left over egg whites from the pineapple tarts baking session and I din want to throw it away just like that. So while waiting for the tarts dough to “chill” in the fridge for 1 hr, I prepared and bake this. Din expect it to be so easy, the only trick here is how to get it in a nice round shape and take care not to overbake.

Ingredients :
1 egg white
30g fine sugar
1/8 tsp vanilla essence
20g self-raising flour

Almond flakes for decoration.

Method :
1. Mix egg white, sugar and vanilla essence till sugar is dissolved.
2. Add sifted self-raising flour and mix well.
3. Apply a really thin layer (almost see-thru) on baking paper.
4. Sprinkle a few almond flakes on top.
5. Bake at 170 degrees for 10 mins or till lightly brown.
6. Once it’s cool, keep in air-tight container.

Yields :
Approximately 30 pcs

Remarks :
– You could replace self-raising flour with plain flour and a pinch of bicarbonate soda.
– The thinner the batter is, the crisper the almond crisp is.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, CNY, Cookies, Festive Goodies, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Almond Crisps

  1. Lousy Baker says:

    Hi Elyn. I’ve tried the almond crisps. The taste is really good. But I have a big problem. I can’t remove the cookies, they are stuck to the baking pan. I have greased the pan already. Have to scrap them out in tiny pieces. When I use baking paper, also stuck to the baking paper too. How?? :sweat: :p

  2. Elyn says:

    Hi! I dun think you’re a lousy baker so ain’t going to call u that :P
    Some of them have the same problem too, so far I’ve been using glad baking paper and it’s fine. Once it’s bake, cool for a min or two and remove it, it’s still hot that time. The reason is if u remove it when it’s cool, it cracks easily and also I realise it sticks to the paper even more. Hope this help!

    I’ve been to your blog and is encouraged by the passion you have for baking, keep it up!

  3. Lousy Baker says:

    Thanks for the tips! I will try it again next time. Haha… it’s just a little hobby. Thanks for the encouragement. :)

  4. sweet-tooth says:

    I’m gonna try this soon with my leftover egg white :D

  5. AdeL says:

    Hi I finally tried your recipe Almond crisps.
    I follow every of your steps & tips, it turns out really nice.

    Thanks for sharing!

  6. Wan says:

    Tried your receipe almond crisp. Sadly to say that it didn’t turn out well as they become soft when cooled (they do not stay crisp). Where did I do wrong?

  7. Alison says:

    Hi Elyn,

    I tried this too and they are delicious out of the oven! But i have the same problem as Wan. Any tips?

  8. Elyn says:

    Hi Wan and Alison, my guess is that it’s too thick and din bake long enough. Do try again!

  9. Alison says:

    Hi Elyn,

    Thanks! I tried these again and found that the reason was because I left it out to cool for too long. When I store them immediately after they’re done, they’re perfectly fine! These are delicious, thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

