Green Tea Sweetheart


Green Tea to me is no more than a beverage that I have when having japanese food, I can’t relate having that in ice-cream, mousse, cakes so after baking all these while, I never have matcha powder in my pantry. I was thinking of madeleines variation the other day that it strike me that matcha could be one of them, I even thought of adding Baileys inside the madeleines the next time, that will be for another attempt. While doing my usual re-stocking of baking ingredients the other day, I finally bought a small bottle of matcha powder.

I’ve leftover 5 egg yolks from my previous chiffon cake attempt and I din want to send it to the bin. I’ve not try making icebox cookies so I thought I could give this a try moreover I think this will be something new for my colleagues! I rolled the dough in greaseproof paper and kept in fridge for 30 mins but it took a little while more to firm up.

The cookie is rolled on caster sugar before baking.

This recipe I am trying is the winner for Best Bakery Recipe category for Pastryscoop.com’s Golden Scoop Awards last year. It’s definitely a refreshing change from the usual cookies. I thot this will be a one-off bake but I do like the light aroma during the baking and the cookie taste really good, it has a melt-in-the mouth texture.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Cookies. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Green Tea Sweetheart

  1. Bernice says:

    I love green tea too buy my friends dont really appreciate them. Love your gorgeous pictures and bet the cookies are as good as the pictures!

  2. linda says:

    Very pretty cookies! Love the fact they didn’t brown and you can see all of the pretty green.

  3. Aimei says:

    This is lovely!

  4. sweet-tooth says:

    Yum! I love green tea :D I’ll be trying this out soon as I have leftover egg yolks ;)

  5. Rei says:

    Hi, thanks for sharing. Now instead of ice cream, I can try out something new.

    rgds
    Rei

  6. Your cookies are gorgeous- love the shade of green!

  7. Elyn says:

    Hi Bernice, thanks for your kind words. I’m not a green tea fan too but from this cookie, I’ve to say I have start thinking where and how to use green tea in bakes.

    Hi Linda, thanks :) The bottom of the cookie is slightly brown thou.

    Hi Aimei and Rebecca, thanks for dropping by!

  8. Elyn says:

    Hi Rei, there should be more use of green tea than these. I would add into madelines the next time!

    Hi thecoffeesnob, thanks for your compliments!

  9. delia says:

    Hi Elyn,
    These cookies are gorgeous. I’ve made them for the CNY but my color is not as beautiful as yours. Yours looks bright. I think I should go and find better green tea powder.

  10. Elyn says:

    Hi delia, thanks :) I’m using Phoon Huat Green Tea powder, my fren who tried felt the green tea isn’t fragrant enough so it will help to get good green tea powder! I think Istean shld have better quality ones.

  11. Kelli says:

    These look beautiful! Thanks for trying the recipe. I thought by the color of the cookies that it looked like you used a nice quality matcha. That really does make all the difference in this recipe (in both taste and color). If you prefer another flavor, you can use any finely ground tea in this recipe.

  12. Pingback: Lovescool - For the Love of Dessert » Blog Archive » Peace, Love and Matcha

  13. Latifa says:

    WOW…how you kept your cookies still looking bright green after baking them ?

Leave a Reply

