Bread and butter pudding

Leftover white toast which I bake a week before. I wrap them tightly in clingwrap and kept in the fridge. I certainly do not want to toss them into the bin cos it took me 4.5 hours to get the white loaf.

 

And I turn them into Bread and Butter Pudding which is traditionally popular in British dessert. It’s essentially a baked form of French Toast, they are called “lost bread” or also Pain Perdu (in french). It’s a way to reclaim stale bread as the bread is softened by dipping in an egg/milk mixture.

I added some raisins and chopped almonds.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Bread. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bread and butter pudding

  1. Rebecca says:

    Hi Elyn!

    I make bread pudding too when there’s leftover bread. Very yummy. Will learn from you and bake them in individual ramekins. Hee, I usually bake it in an oven-proof dish.

    Very very nice pics! I especially like the second and third pics.

  2. Pingback: YeastSpotting | Wild Yeast

  3. Michelle says:

    You take pretty gorgeous shots. Feast for the eye. ;)

  4. Elyn says:

    Hi Rebecca, I din really like this one hence din post up the recipe, it’s too “custard”. Actually I miss the one when I learn during the home economics lesson, I could not find that book now. Thanks for your kind words for the photography, am still trying to figure out what is what, it’s definitely another interesting hobby. I like your pictures too!

  5. Elyn says:

    Hi Michelle, thanks for your kind words :)

Leave a Reply

