Kueh Bangkit

I’m glad it turn out alright 🙂 Have read several fail attempts and I was a little worried if I can make it so I only prepare 150g tapioca flour. Am now regretting that I shld prepare more! 

The outer layer isn’t too hard, does not crumble when bite into and immediately melt in the mouth once you pop in. Most importantly, it does not have that bitter after taste!  

Love this set of pictures 😛

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, CNY, Cookies, Festive Goodies. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Kueh Bangkit

  1. Yvonne says:

    Hi Elyn,

    Very nice pictures!

    I’ve tried making Kueh Bangkit but they do not melt in the mouth.

    Can you share your recipe for melt in the mouth Kueh Bangkit?

  2. Elyn says:

    Hi Yvonne,

    Thanks for your compliments 🙂

    Thought it will be more appropriate to refer you to where I got the recipe from. There are 2 recipes here and I tried mine using Belachan’s recipe, she has a step by step guide.

    Belachan – http://belachan2.blogspot.com/search/label/Cookies
    Seadragon – http://cafeoftheeast.blogspot.com/2005/01/kuih-bangkit-mentega.html

    Some tips to share here :
    – Remember to transfer the microwaved tapioca flour to a new kitchen sheet for cooling. You could see the moisture at the bottom of the container.

    – I use more coconut milk and egg yolk to bind the dough together.

    – Btw, I use Ayam brand coconut milk and is happy with it.

  3. Yvonne says:

    Thanks! Will try this out.

  4. Elyn says:

    Hi Yvonne,

    You’re welcome. I replace a small quantity of the tapioca flour with rice flour so it’s a little crisper (if you like).

    Btw, how did you chance upon my blog and do you hv one? 🙂

  5. Yvonne says:

    Hi Elyn,

    It was your pineapple mould that caught my attention. I am very impressed with your blog.

    No, I do not have a blog.

  6. pansy says:

    hi! i love your pictures 🙂

    would you please share the proportion you use? esp the rice flour vs tapioca.

    also, how long did you bake it?

    i tried the same recipe from belachan’s blog but mine are yellowish and not white.

    thanks

  7. Elyn says:

    Hi Pansy,

    Thanks 🙂 The proportion is 120g Tapioca Flour and 30g Rice flour. My oven is hotter so I bake at 150 degrees for 15-20 mins. For the yellowish color, I think the oven is too hot so you will have to experiment. You could also like bake the 1st 15 mins at a lower temperature then 5 mins at a higher temperature to “brown” the cookies.

    Hope the information help. I’m still experimenting it.

    There is another recipe here :
    http://fenyingrecipe.blogspot.com/index.html

  8. pansy says:

    thanks for sharing! i’ll give it another try 🙂

    love ur heart shape kuih bangkit!

  9. pansy says:

    so sorry! just to confirm…

    belachan’s recipe gives us a melt in the mouth cookie.

    if we change the flour to rice flour and tapioca flour, it’ll give a crispier cookie?

  10. Elyn says:

    Hi Pansy,

    You could only change a small portion of tapioca flour to rice flour to give a little more crunchy bite.

Leave a Reply

