More about Kueh Bangkit and Keh Lapis

I hope not only to show my successful bakes but also to share the failed attempts so pple who drop by could get a tip of two.

Kueh Bangkit
I attempt to omit egg yolk as requested by one of my customers but unfortunately after 2 trials, adjusting the proportion of flour, butter and coconut cream, it din help either. The first trial is too dry and hard for bite. The second one was slightly better after keeping just tapioca flour and the same proportion for butter and coconut cream. The cookie has also lost it’s puffiness probably due to the egg yolk missing but there again, the egg yolk seems to serve only as binder.
As from baking911, “eggs are a challenge to completely eliminate from an existing recipe”. I just did some homework and I’m going to try again by adding baking powder.

Keh Lapis
Was told this shld be called Keh Lapis and not Kueh Lapis, not sure the difference in naming. I make another attempt again and use the lapis press this time. This look like the little tool that pple use to apply cement on the floor *oops*. Indeed the cake look like those commercially sold, firm and compact but I miss the spongy texture I had on my first attempt so I’m going to keep the lapis press aside. Do not attempt to grill the cake on high cos the high heat will cause the cake to be dry and burnt on the side especially. I manage to make 9 layers this round becos the cake tin I bought is too big and with previous experience, each layer do look pretty even and I am more familiar with how to spread each layer of batter around.

So to date, my attempts are :
1. Pineapple Tarts
2. Kueh Bangkit
3. Peanut Cookies
4. Almond Cookies
5. Kueh Lapis

Next on list :
Kueh Baulu
I wish I have more time to do more trial baking!

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Baking tips, Cakes, CNY, Cookies, Festive Goodies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

