On Pineapple Tarts and Butter

Butter 
I went to get another 6 blocks of Lurpak butter today! So I’ve 13 blocks of Lurpak, 2 blocks of Golden Churn and 1 block of Greenfield so I better be more hardworking now. If you’re wondering why I’m in such a hurry to get so many blocks of butter, simply becos during normal days, Lurpak is selling at S$3.10 for 250g block, Golden Churn is at S$2.60 for 250g block. For now, 3 blocks of Lurpak is at S$6.95 which is like S$2.30 a block.

Lurpak and Golden Churn are both creamy but the latter (Golden Churn) has a stronger butter aroma, I din noe the difference till I bake 2 batches of pineapple tarts with them. It’s actually too overwhelming for my liking. Both is very good to work with, at least you don’t hv to take them out from fridge hours ahead to soften. It’s very good to cut and does not literally melt (which the other brand does, you could see butter oil oozing after you leave it out for too long). I love working with Lurpak for my pineapple tarts, you could still feel the coldness of the butter even after you have rub it into the flour. The dough texture is more pliable, very smooth to knead.

No … I dun work in either company. Just want to share what I found out.

Pineapple Tarts
I have a dozen of pineapple tarts recipe on hand and most of them use plain flour. Recently someone ask if there is a difference when using plain flour and cake flour. I did a trial, bake 2 batches of pineapple tarts with just plain flour and the other one a mixture of plain and top flour. The plain flour pastry came out crispier and coarse, the 2 flour mixture is more towards melt in the mouth and the texture is finer. Ah … so the secret is out?!

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking tips. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On Pineapple Tarts and Butter

  1. pansy says:

    where can we find the butter on sale? i was at cold storage on sunday and “bu she de” buy the lurpak.

    have you heard of elle & vive brand butter?

  2. Elyn says:

    Hi Pansy, I saw the 3 in 1 pack at Giant, NTUC Pasir Ris & Toa Payoh and IMM Giant.
    No, I’ve not heard of that brand, where did u see it?

  3. pansy says:

    i went for a baking class and saw the teacher working with it 🙂 she recommended lurpak too. Her opinion is that singapore butters are harder in texture.

Leave a Reply

