Orange Butter Cake

Orange Butter Cake

Finally I have the opportunity to bake something, becos the stock at home is depleting!

I have read good reviews on this butter cake but instead of Oreo Cookies, I use orange zest and orange juice. Verdict? It’s different from the usual butter cake not only becos this only has 85g butter and uses non-sweetened yoghurt (I use low fat as well) but it does not have the buttery, heavy texture. It’s soft, moist and light! This recipe is definitely a keeper but I would like to reduce the yoghurt next time so it’s a little more compound. Simply love the aroma of the butter cake during baking!

Check out Angie’s recipe here.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Cakes. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Orange Butter Cake

  1. Hi, I have tried the oreo butter cake. Will try your orange version as I like to add oranges in my muffins and cakes. Thanks for sharing the idea!

  2. Elyn says:

    Hi Happy Homebaker! Thank you for dropping by! I din hv a chance to leave comments on your blog cos I dun hv a blogger account. Your blog is so inspiring! and very beautiful pixs too!

    Realise this recipe differ just slightly from your low-fat yoghurt cake so I’m going to try yours soon too.

    May I ask how’s the texture of your Oreo Butter Cake? Mine is very soft to the extent that it break apart easily, is it suppose to be like that?

  3. angie says:

    Hi Elyn,

    Lovely orange cake you have there. I’m happy you gave this recipe a try 🙂

  4. angie says:

    Oops, forgot to add, your photos are very well-taken.

  5. Elyn says:

    Hi Angie,

    Thank you 🙂 Your pixs are much better composed than mine, hv a lot to learn from you especially on baking. Have always enjoyed reading your blog, always inspired to bake this and that after reading 🙂

  6. angie says:

    Elyn,

    Your are too kind. Don’t mind me linking you up to my blog :), and I haven’t finished reading thru’ your blog, hee.. will be coming by often.

  7. Hi Elyn
    I have changed the setting of my blogger comments so that anyone without a goole account could also comment. I didn’t realise that until lately…hahaha!
    Yes, the oreo butter cake is quite crumbly…my boys dropped the crumbs all over the table and floor.

  8. cy says:

    Hi,

    Much do you put for the orange zest and orange? Do you still inclue the vanilla essence? Why cake flour is used instead of self-rising flour?

    Kindly enlightened.

    thks.

  9. Elyn says:

    Hi CY, I added one orange zest and 3 tbsp of orange juice. Cake flour will gives the cake a finer texture. I omitted the vanilla essence. HTH.

Leave a Reply

