Baking Supplies

There isn’t many baking supplies shop in Singapore, aside from Phoon Huat which has the most outlets in Singapore, there is also BIY, Gim Hin Lee and my favourite Ailin Bakery House @ Tanjong Katong Complex.

Just pop by Ailin this afternoon and look wat I gotten! Sorry for the bad pix cos I use my phone camera. It’s the tiny weeny cutter I use for pineapple tarts but it now has flower and heart shape as well. It doesn’t have the spring thing to push the dough out but this could easily be solve and it’s just half of the price – S$4.

More on Ailin, it’s a small little shop which is pack to the brim so you hv to spend some time looking around and catch the little surprises here and there. They have their own house brand ingredients e.g. vanilla essence, baking powder and lots of others flavouring oils and essence which is not so common. They also have their own cake, cookie, bread, muffin mix just at S$3 each. I’ve been using their vanilla essence so far and buy them in twos everytime, have tried PH, Bake King but none beats Ailin cos it’s just so fragrant. Everytime a recipe calls for 1 tsp, I just use 1/2 tsp and you could still taste the vanilla essence after baking.

What I like most is the friendly shop owner which really noe wat’s baking, he is ready to answer your queries if the shop isn’t too crowded. Well, I pick up some great tips from him this afternoon and upon checking with him, I could confirm it’s time to change a new oven (that will be another entry). A pity that I din bring my camera along or I would hv taken more pixs of the shop and post it here.

Btw, I’m not related to the shop, just that it isn’t easy to find baking ingredients/supplies in Singapore.

Ailin Bakery House
845 Geylang Road #01-48
Tanjong Katong Complex
Singapore 400845
Tel : 67432693
Opening Hours : 9.30am to 7pm

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking ingredients, Baking tools. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Baking Supplies

  1. Yvonne says:

    Hi,

    Thanks for sharing. I really love your blog. Well done! Keep it up!

  2. Audrey says:

    Hihi.. I came upon your blog by chance when I was looking for baking supplies shops. So far I’ve been going to Phoon Huat but haven’t been there for a long time and am not really sure if they have ready made puff pastry (for rolling out)for sale there (from your entry I found out that Ailin has all sorts of mixes..). Wondering if you have ever come across that in the shop? I’m living in Clementi and am afraid I might make a wasted trip by going all the way there.

  3. Elyn says:

    Hi Audrey! I think I saw PH carrying puff pastry @ the Toa Payoh Outlet, give them a call before you pop by.

    Ailin? Oh yes, I’m kinda regular there, simply love their vanilla essence, it’s just different from other brand, I find theirs more fragant. They have cookie/muffins mixs and other baking essentials, what are you particularly looking for? If you’re in that area, do drop by Gim Hin Lee as well, it’s near the Haig Road Market. They carry all Bake King’s product.

  4. Mich says:

    hi!

    im a huge fan of hello kitty too! can i know where your friend got those bakeware for you? cos im going taipei soon and i hope to lay my hands on those too.

    many thanks for your help 🙂

  5. Elyn says:

    Hi Mich, she help me to order from Taiwan yahoo auction, sorry not sure if there is any retail shop selling it.

  6. trena says:

    hi,
    can anyone help me? i
    am looking for a egg shaped mould/pan? found a wilton mini egg shaped pan at adelphi ($33)! But so exp!

    am baking a basket of eggs for my niece birthday mid dec but cant find any cheaper alternative.

  7. ieat says:

    Thanks for sharing. Will be making a trip down today!

  8. Elyn says:

    Hi Leslie, thank you for dropping by 🙂

  9. isabel says:

    hi! thanksfor ailin bakery house… i was looking for ground toasted hazelnuts….

Leave a Reply

