Oven

I suspected there is some problem with my oven when I had to bake a loaf size butter cake for 1 hr @ 170 degrees. Tried a couple of times, it’s either the cake is too dry after such prolong baking or the middle of the cake is not cook (like a swimming pool!) when it’s 45 mins bake time. If I switch to 180 degrees, the cake would turn hard on the outside fast but inside not cook too. It’s alright with cupcakes, muffins and cookies but I can’t be forever be baking those, I want to move on and bake cakes, tarts, bread!

So I’m in the midst of looking around for ovens now, am totally clueless and dunno which is which, the terms used are also aliens to me. I did consider Ariston or Indesit which has 56 litres capacity but I have space constraint.

My requirement :
– Desktop type
– Convention oven, one that can bake, steam, grill and microwave as well.

Saw this on Panansonic website :
Panasonic NN-J993YPQ
Likes – Has steam function, 30L Oven Capacity, Lowest power consumption for oven at 1380W, the other models are 1500W to 1900W, 2 level convention bake function
Dislikes – Drop down oven door, Non-turntable,

Or should it be LG SolorDom MP-9482S?

Likes – 34L, energy saving up to 50%, easy to use smart display panel, stainless steel oven interior. I read some reviews on the web, a chicken roasting time has reduce from 1 1/2 hrs to 1/2 hr.
Dislikes – ? There are so limited information on their website considering this is one of the most essential tool in this era.

Any recommendations?

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking tools. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oven

  1. Meera says:

    Hi,

    Just saw your post, as I in a similar situation. Did you resolve this? What did you buy? Will be interesting to know…

    Meera

  2. Elyn says:

    Hi Meera, no … sadly I din resolve this, I’ve ask around and most of them give me the same answer – something is wrong wif the oven so I gotten a new one. I choose LG SolarDom in the end, I’ve another post on this, do check it out!

Leave a Reply

