Haywire Day

It’s such an upsetting day.

I wanted to bake some chocolate eclairs, everything went well right till the baking process, the pastry came out a little brown but again the inside is not completely cook, probably 10% more. If I continue to bake it, the crust would probably be too hard. Went to buy an oven thermometer and this is wat happen :

– When I set the oven to 200 degrees, the thermometer showed 160 degrees.
– When I set the oven to 180 degrees, the thermometer showed also 160 degress but could see some smoke (like overheat) when I open the oven door.
– I did a baking trial of muffins, set the oven too 200 degrees; thermometer showed 160 degrees and took 30 mins to bake. Finally the crust looks golden brown but it’s hard on the outside and when tear open, the inside color looks uncooked, a little moist.
– I also tried the pre-heating method, the temperature din climb up to 180 degrees too.
– I set the oven for baking, set at 180 degrees, thermometer showed 170 degrees initally, half way thru the thermometer showed 180 degree, is this normal?

I start to wonder if I know how to bake! and I’m totally helpless and clueless how I shld manage the oven now. Is there something wrong with the recipe? I tried from muffins, choux pastry to butter cake and is having the same problem. Is there something wrong with my preparation method? I have also tried several methods – creaming to just normal muffin mixing. Have tried baking in loaf tin, round tin and now muffins cups, I din have any luck either. It’s so discouraging to see the failed bakes and throwing them away. I’ve not fail in baking when following a recipe (unless I tweak the recipe so much that it doesn’t work) and now it’s one after another! All I just want to do is just some proper baking!

In any case, I’m not going to waste any more precious ingredients or time trying again. I’m just going to get a new oven! I checked out the 2 ovens that I mention earlier, both are almost 1K, saw a display set of LG Solardom going at S$200 lesser which is a steal since the store probably won’t turn on the oven. Otherwise I saw another Sharp Model going for S$399 which is really affordable. So now which is which?

On another note, I bought an additional printer today – one that can scan / print / copy which is prefectly helpful when I want to note down recipes from books I borrow from the library!

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Thots. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Haywire Day

  1. Hi, how long have your been using your oven? If it’s long enough, then should get a new one, since you will be using it so often.

    I always get my electrical appliances from this shop at Hougang, the name of the shop is GOH AH BEE, tel: 62888611. You can call to check on the price of the model you want. The price is usually much cheaper. For bigger items like TV or fridge, they even deliver FOC. They don’t open on Sundays though. btw, I am not advertising for this shop…just that I’ve been buying electrical products from them for the past 10 yrs.

  2. Btw, you are the same Elyn that left a comment on my blog right? As you didnt leave your blog address, I thot it was another person! Your photos are very good…I like the part when your mentioned about being an octopus when taking your food photos 😉

  3. Sorry, Elyn to bother you with another comment!
    Me too, I always copy down (either handwritten or type in MS Words) the recipes from library books. My in-law’s place got a 3in1 printer…next time, I should just go there to print…hehe. Thanks for giving me the idea 😉
    btw, Bishan library has got the most recent cookbooks as compared to the other libraries. I’ve recenly borrowed, Martha Steward’s handbook for baking, The cake Book by Tish Bolye, and books by Alice Medrich from Bishan.

  4. Elyn says:

    Hi Happy Homebaker! Yes, it’s me who left the comment in your blog, finally 🙂 Thanks for the recommendation, will check out the shop. I have been using my oven for 9 years.

    The part abt typing is you can’t save the pictures which is useful to see how the final baked product shld look like thou the pix must hv went thru “major surgery”. The printer I bought is very affordable, at S$88 – Brochure DCP-115C at the IT Show.

  5. Hi Elyn,
    Yes, you were right about the pictures! Especially those Chinese cookbooks that come with many step-by-step photos. I’m going down to IT show today…will see if my hubby will get one for me, since it’s so cheap! My elder boy will need to use it sooner or later for his school projects.

Leave a Reply

