Imperial Kitchen Gathering

Imperial Kitchen is a local forum I frequent, there was a demo cum gathering this afternoon and I din decide that I’m going till 1 1/2 hrs before the party begin! Fren C drove and we finally find our way to the other side of the island. Each of us is to bring some food so both us brought longans and seedless grapes for dessert. It’s great to meet up and putting face behind the nicks and I had a great time chatting with some of them.

LeeLee (Baking Mum) has kindly agreed to show us how to make 3 dian xins – Har Gow, Guo Tie and Xiao Long Bao. She prepared the filling beforehand and showed us how to prepare the skin, we brought along our rolling pin and had a try on how to wrap up the dian xin. I can’t find any others (even the very famous Xiao Long Bao shop) better than hers!

This is the Har Gow, I’m amazed by the way LeeLee knead the dough, roll the skin – she got it round while the rest of us had in different shape – square, oval etc. Please dun mistaken these are done by LeeLee, it’s by us so that explain the different shape and pleats. The prawn is very crunchy and the skin is really good.

Guo Tie – Trying out to roll that perfect skin. I’ve never eaten any better Guo Ties than this, seriously!

Xiao Long Bao – she generously shared with us how to do the pleats, how to roll the dough which isn’t easy. After this session, I really appreciate each and every dian xin I eat even more!

The Spread! I don’t think I capture all, there are Tiramisu hidden under the lapis, chicken curry, Linda’s strawberry homemade ice cream etc. They are any time better than those by the hotel, especially love Gladcake’s potato salad and Lucy’s cakes.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Thots. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Imperial Kitchen Gathering

  1. cadenze says:

    Elyn, do you think you can help to refer me to the admin of Imperial Kitchen please? They aren’t accepting new signups unless referred by existing members. 😦

  2. Elyn says:

    Hi Cadenze, done …have just email the admin. Do let me know if you dun hear from her in 2 days? 🙂

  3. cadenze says:

    Thank you so much, dear Elyn!

Leave a Reply

