Bread!

I bought a breadmaker way last year Oct and din feel like bringing it out to use till this afternoon. Was really skeptical about using it cos there is a procedure of adding wat first into the breadmaker, I was also worried that I got the procedure wrong and how can this be turn into a bread! 😛 Anyhow, I measure the ingredients, make sure the dry ingredients cover the wet ones before carefully putting in the yeast. After 15 mins of kneading, it forms a dough. Use the oven shortcut method by microwaving a bowl of water to hot and put the dough in the oven to proof till double size which took 1 hr.

Shaped into smaller dough approximately 30g but find it a little small now. It’s then ready for the next proofing of 10 mins. Afterwhich is to add in the fillings and proof for another 1 hr.

I just realise my oven has this temperature setting of 40 degrees and I read that 38 degrees is the ideal temperature for proofing. Well, I decided to try putting one tray and it into the oven, set to 40 degrees for 15 mins and voila – it actually proof double size! I wanted to play safe and proof for another 15 mins but that doesn’t seem to be much difference in size. Have another tray that is left out to proof by itself and compare both quality, there isn’t any difference!

Final product! It’s really soft, much better than those commercial made one. I probably will consider twice if I hv to buy bread from outside now especially on weekends! I made a few variations here, spicy shrimp floss, sweet butter filling and raisins. The original recipe calls to bake at 180 – 190 degrees for 10 to 12 mins but mine is already done at 180 degrees for 9 mins!

Preparation of ingredient – 5 mins
Kneading by breadmaker – 15 mins
1st Proofing using oven at 40 degrees – 30 mins
Shaped and 2nd proofing – 20 mins
2nd Proofing using oven at 40 degrees – 30 mins
Egg Wash – 3 mins
Bake – 9 mins

Total time 1.8 hrs. I read that I can actually leave the dough to do the 1st proof overnite in the fridge so meaning it’s going to be quicker to make it the next day.

Nevertheless, I’m very satisfied with my first try, now will have to see if the bread remains soft the next day cos I forgot to add in the bread improver earlier.

Next time I want to improve how to shape the dough nicely and make other variations too! I will probably make kaya using the breadmaker cos it has a jam function too! This breadmaker is so worthy to buy @ S$59!

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Bread. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bread!

  1. Jackie says:

    Hi there!
    I was wondering, where did you purchase your bread maker from?
    I’ve been looking for a value-for-money bread maker and chanced upon this entry.
    Your bread looks delicious by the way!

  2. Elyn says:

    Hi Jackie, I bought my Bluesky Breadmaker from Carrefour @ S$59.

Leave a Reply

