Hotdog Buns & Pandan Kaya Cake

Hotdog Buns

Bread is a staple food in our family and it’s something that I can take it as a meal. Decide to make some hotdog bun for nephew when he stayed over this weekend, choose hotdog cos kids will sure love it. I added some Italian Herbs to some and I thought they compliment well with the hotdog too. I only use half of the dough and freeze the other half for tomorrow’s baking, so it will be fresh for Sunday consumption. Colleagues was also asking if they will have bread for breakfast this Monday!? hahaha … have decided it will be hotdog sweet buns and cheese/sugar sweet buns for them, but I think I need to make the buns a little bigger!

Nothing is more than satisfactory than seeing nephew holding the hotdog bun with his tiny fingers and biting into it!

Pandan Kaya Cake

Wanted to try how this Pandan Kaya Cake taste like so have been reading up on the tips to make it, the process sound scary and complicating. Use Phoon Huat super sponge cake mix, it was pretty easy but the cake is a little dry. The more difficult part is cooking the Kaya, somehow I din manage to get the gluey, thick texture after boiling it for a while so I added more Hoon Kueh powder which din help much either. It only begin to thicken after I remove from the fire so after stiring for a while to cool the mixture, I carefully pour it to the base layer within the cake ring. *at least the cake ring is put to another use!* Add another layer of cake and finally more kaya. Chil it in the fridge for a few hours before cutting. It’s a breeze to remove the cake from the cake ring, I just slowly pull out from the top, for a moment I was worried that the kaya will leak from the bottom or the cake will fall apart!

Well, I din like the taste of the cake thou the rest of the family feel it’s nice. The coconut and kaya tasta is pretty strong. Probably won’t make it again.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Bread, Cakes. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hotdog Buns & Pandan Kaya Cake

  1. Hi Elyn, your bread looks good…did u use the bread machine to knead it? I like bread too…but the thot of kneading the dough is really puts me off 😦 and sometimes, after all the hard work, the bread may not turn out well.
    Good attempt with the kaya pandan cake…it looks delicious! sponge cake tends to be dry…as the amount of butter or oil used is too little…will need to brush with syrup if u want it to be moist. looking forward to your next bake 🙂

  2. Elyn says:

    Hi Happy Homebaker, so happy to have you drop by and leave a comment, it make my day!

    I am not good with kneading, also too lazy to knead so I got a economical breadmaker from Carrefour, the brand is Bluesky and it’s at S$59. The machine can do all – knead, proof and bake as a loaf as well, it could also make jam as well so that will save you the trouble of standing by the stove to stir and stir. So far I’ve made 3 attempts and all turn out well, 2 times with the sweet bun which I only use it to knead for 20 mins. Then I will leave it to proof for another hour, shape, rest for 10 mins then wrap with filling and proof for another hr. I use my own oven to bake cos I shape it individually which took me around 9 mins.

    Also tried making a loaf of white bread with the full function – knead, proof and bake as well, the whole process took abt 3 hrs. Just put everything in, set and the machine will set to work by itself.

    As for the sponge cake, I suspect I overbake (I keep feeling that everything I bake is not cook *roll eyes*) cos it crumble a little during the cutting. I still have 3/4 of the sponge cake mix left so the next time I’m going to attempt to make a proper cake – like yours 🙂

  3. Hi Elyn, I saw the ad by carrefour on the bread machine sometime ago. Will check it out at carrefour 🙂
    I like the idea of putting all the ingredients in the machine and after 3 hrs, you get a fresh loaf! But on the other hand, I do like the kneading process…it’s actually quite therapeutic.

  4. Evan says:

    hey elyn, yummy bread you’ve got here! i went to carrefour plaza sing few days ago. didnt see the bread maker leh 😦 😦 seems like alot of ppl hv bought it, how come i cant find! izit only available @ suntec’s outlet? i was so desperate that i contemplated abt getting the kenwood one ($300+) but its really big and like you, i lack kitchen space, so i didnt buy.

  5. Elyn says:

    Hi Evan, I bought mine from Suntec but it’s a very popular item so it may be out of stock, do give them a call before you go down.

    S$300 plus? I thot that money can go into the Kitchenaid fund (for my case) cos I only use it to knead and use my oven to bake. I dun proof inside the machine also (waste electricity), just leave it outside to proof till double size.

    The size is approximately 1 1/2 size of a rice cooker. I dun hv a permanent place so I keep back to the box everytime I finish using it, luckily it’s like once a week *phew*

    It’s so satisfactory eating home made bread, the variety you can have! Hope to see you posting abt making bread soon!

  6. Elyn says:

    Hi Evan, I just read from IK that the Bluesky Breadmaker is available at Suntec Carrerfour for S$79. You may want to pop by and see.

Leave a Reply

