Basic Sweet Bun Recipe

This is the most commonly used basic sweet bun recipe.

Ingredients :
(A)
240g Bread Flour
60g Plain Flour
55g Sugar
5g Salt
10g Milk Powder
2 tsp instant yeast
1/2 tsp Bread Improver (available from Phoon Huat)

(B)
1/2 Egg
150ml Cold Water

(C)
30g Butter

Using hand-knead method :
1. Mix (A) till well blended.
2. Add (B) and knead to form a dough.
3. Add (C), continue to knead to form a smooth and elastic dough.

Using breadmaker machine :
For Bluesky breadmaker
1. Add the wet ingredients to the bottom of the pan followed by dry ingredients and finally yeast. Do not let yeast touch water.
2. Set to Menu 8 1: 30 to knead the dough, this process should take approximately 20 mins.
3. Look out for the first beep which means the dough is ready. If you prefer the machine to do the proofing, just leave it as it is till 1 hr 10 mins later.

If you are using other brand, add the ingredients according to the machine’s manual.

Part 1 – 1st Proofing (ideal temperature for proofing is 38 degrees)
Option 1

1. Cover dough with clear film. This will prevent a crisp crust from forming on the dough.
2. Let it proof for 50-60 mins, or till it doubles its size. It could take a longer time dependent on the room temperature, the brand of flour used.

Option 2
Alternatively place a bowl of hot water in the oven and keep the dough inside to speed up the proofing process.

* The dough should feel springy when proofed.

Part 2
1. Divide the dough into desired portion, or shaped if you are not putting in fillings.
2. Set aside to rest for 10 – 15 mins.

Part 3 – 2nd proofing
1. Roll out dough and wrap in desired fillings.
2. Cover the dough with clingwrap and proof for another 50-60 mins, or till it doubles its size. It could take a longer time dependent on the temperature of the room, the brand of flour used.

Finally …
1. Egg wash and bake at 180 degrees for 10-12 mins.

Yields :
40g dough X 14 pcs

Ingredients Source :
Alex Goh – The World of Bread

Notes :
1. If you want to separate the dough for a few days consumption, cling wrap the dough and put it in the freezer after the 1st proofing. To use it, bring the dough from the freezer to room temperature to thaw, this will take approximately 1 hr.

2. If you are using the dough the very next day, cling wrap the dough and put it in the fridge right after kneading. 

Quoting from Doris Greenspan – Baking from my home to yours :
” Since yeast rises best in a warm environment, and not at all when it is cold, you can put the dough in the refrigerator and send the yeast into a state of suspended animation. Although the dough will rise for about an hour after it is first slipped into the fridge, once it is cold, the rising will stop and the dough can be kept overnight”
Personally I find the bread is softer after the overnight proofing/resting. I will prefer to use this method also cos the whole bread making process is shorten by half, I just need to bring the dough out to room temperature the next day, shape -> rest for 10 mins -> add fillings -> proof for another hour and it’s ready to bake.3. My oven has the temperature setting of 40 degrees hence I’ve also use it to proof the dough and within 30 mins, the dough has already proof to double size.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Bread, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Basic Sweet Bun Recipe

  1. Anne says:

    Thanks for the recipe. I hope to try this when I do get the time. You make such nice buns 🙂

  2. Elyn says:

    Thanks Anne! Do give it a try, there may seem to be many steps but just follow one by one and you will make it 🙂

  3. Hi Elyn, can I ask what’s the purpose of the bread improver? to make the bread soft or simple to make it stay fresh for another day or two? I am always careful when using such things…not sure what kind of “chemical” goes into it? got to look after the health of my family 🙂

  4. Elyn says:

    I understand the improver is to keep the bread softer for a few more days. I forgot to add in the first time I make bread but the bread is still soft the next day. I guess it’s okay if you are not planning to keep the bread for a few days. I read from IK that the breadmaker is available at Carrefour Suntec, will u be getting it? 🙂

  5. hmmm…will likely get my husband to buy the bread machine for me this weekend 😉

  6. Elyn says:

    Yippee! Look forward to see more bake work from you 🙂

  7. Suk YEn says:

    Hi,
    I chanced upon your webpage.. I made some bread yesterday, but it was soggy by today.. What do you think is the problem? And is it really 2 tbsp of yeast?
    Thank you so much.. Hmm, makes me think of getting a bread machine..

  8. Jane says:

    hi, I just bought the Bluesky BM yesterday. I tried the Hokkaido Milky Loaf yest and I find the crust too dark.

    I noticed something which is the blade is stuck in the bread the thus there are big holes in the side of the bread. Is it normal?

    You mentioned above that I can actually take out the dough after the first kneading in the BM. Then I should press ‘stop’? how do I continue to let the BM continue kneading?

    Would appreciate if you could advise and thanks in advance.

    Jane

  9. Elyn says:

    Hi Suk Yen, when you say the bread is soggy, it sound like the bread is not completed bake yet. The recipe requires 2 tsp yeast. For the breadmaker, most of home bakers are using Bluesky (available at Carrefour) which is price at S$69.90. The disadvantages of using a breadmaker is the crust are usually thicker and there is a hole on the baked bread (where the blade is). A loaf of bread will take approximately 3.5 hrs from the time you put in all the ingredients. I’m not sure of the electricity consumption. Personally I use it more to knead bread and prefer to do the proofing outside and lastly bake in my own oven. You could drop me an email if you’ve more questions 🙂

Leave a Reply

