Bread Making

Breads 03

 

I couldn’t add this pix to my earlier post, have some problems updating WP recently.This is the cross section of the bun, with some hotdogs inside.

I have used up my 1kg of bread flour, have bake many many buns by now. I love the feeling of playing with bread dough, it’s light, stretchable and isn’t oily. Am also getting used to the process by now, need to improve on shaping skills thou. With the help of the pretty paper case, the bun look presentable with the height but the hotdog buns come in different length and shape!

Have also read up a little more on bread making and make some plans. Will knead the dough the night before, leave it in the fridge to proof then shape the next morning, proof again and bake. Yesterday night I tried proofing without the help of the oven, and the outer crust wasn’t crisp which usually happen during oven proofing. So as much as I can, I will do the “natural proofing” from now. Bread making is something that cannot be rush, that teaches me to be patient.

And enuf of hotdog buns for now, will try something new next week perhaps corn loaf? I also want to attempt the Chocolate Swird Bread that I saw, it’s so beautiful – if I am successful.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Bread. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bread Making

  1. Are you refering to the same chocolate swirl bread that I have tried before? I can’t wait to see yours!! I’m sure you can go a better one than mine. Do study the photos of the original post (in Japanese website). It’s a very good bread…just that I lack the skills, and will really like to try it again.

  2. Elyn says:

    Yes, I’m refering to that bread! I’m a fan of chocolate 🙂 I felt your swirls is already very pretty, I dun hv delicate hands so am no good when it comes to “hand work”.

    I read from one book (can’t rem which one) that for fillings, always do 2 layers. Wrap the filling in one part first then wrap another layer inverted to ensure the fillings does not leak out. Do try it, can’t wait to see yours again 🙂

  3. oic, this way, the filling will be sandwitched between 2 layers of dough…I hope I will remember this trick when I try the swirl bread again, tks for the tip!

  4. Elyn says:

    Yes, double protection so the chances of fillings leaking out should be safer.

Leave a Reply

