Chocolate Swirl Bread

Cotton sponge cake

This isn’t an easy bread to make, the time taken is soooo long. First, the dough is very sticky, much more sticky than the sweet bread dough. In the end I just leave it to proof then put into the fridge. The chocolate paste isn’t as smooth as I thought to be and it did not harden, I could not roll out as a dough so I also leave it in a container and put in the fridge.

The first and second folding was alright but when I attempt to roll out to do the swirl, there seems to be bubbles and the dough is so thin that you could see the chocolate. The next thing is that it spill out, luckily it was just a corner. The next worst thing is when I attempt to cut into half, the chocolate paste wasnt hard enough and it was messy. I couldn’t even do a proper plait and I just sent the whole loaf into the oven. So you could see the chocolate wasn’t spread out well.

The bread is indeed soft inside but the outside is easily turn into a crisp crust. Will definitely try it again but this time I will prepare the chocolate filling the night before, giving it enough time to really turn into a “hard paste”.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Bread. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Chocolate Swirl Bread

  1. Vera says:

    Dear Elyn,

    Sorry to hear about the difficulty you encountered. However, I followed the recipe for the first time and it was a breeze. The paste was on the soft-firm side but manageable. The dough was quite firm too.

    Hope it works better for next time!

  2. Hi Elyn, I experience Exactly the same thing as you did! Let me tell you, I made the chocolate paste the night before, but it was still as soft as a paste. I didn’t roll it…simple place it inside a plastic bag, and shape it (with hand and a ruler to scrape it around) to form a square. I was using the ruler to measure the size of the paste, haha! Like you, the bread got really messy…but don’t you think it is very soft, although the crust is a little hard. btw, I bought the bread maker today!

  3. Vera says:

    With regards to the chocolate paste, it is not suppose to be soft so as to harden in the refrigerator.

    The paste started to harden after 5 minutes of patient stirring over low stove heat but it cooled really quickly to allow it to be rolled on in plastic wrap.

    It didn’t harden anymore after being chilled, but easy enough to handle…

  4. Elyn says:

    Oh Vera, you could not imagine the mess I’m in when I tried to plait, I din know wat to do but just put the whole dough into the loaf tin. May I ask which recipe did you use? I read from another HK website and I realise they use corn flour and also more chocolate. It was in a slow-moving pouring state and I did stir the mixture for almost 15 mins under low fire but it just does not thicken at all. And the dough is so sticky! Now I start to wonder if we are using 2 different recipe?!

  5. Elyn says:

    Hi Happy Homebaker, I could totally understand the state u’re in that day 😛 I just line a round tin with cling wrap and pour the chocolate paste over and put it into the fridge but it din harden either. I’m too lazy to use a ruler to measure so aga-aga and make sure the paste is smaller than the dough.

    I just saw another recipe here (http://www.wretch.cc/blog/jlsssy) so probably going to try that one.

    Wow! you got it! So I will see more bread from you 🙂

  6. Vera says:

    Dear Elyn,

    I saw the recipe that you used which is very similar to the original source (cookpad.com) and as in “Baking Fiends Unite!” (http://bakingfiend.blogspot.com/2006_11_01_archive.html)

    You can see that the main difference is in the paste.

    Try it and I hope you find it as easy as it was for me!

Leave a Reply

