Mango Mousse Cake

Mango Mousse Cake

My 2nd attempt on baking sponge cake, think I din beat the batter enough and I forgot about doing the ribbon test. Anyway, it’s a breeze to cut the cake with my new serrated knife! Was feeling fustrated over some work the other day and walk into Phoon Huat and bought it just like that, I almost bought the cake leveler too. These should not happen too often, it won’t do my pocket good. I’m now lemming for an adjustable round cake ring cos a cake should be round, right? *_^

Back to the cake, I think I also overwhip the whipping cream to almost soft stiff stage. In the end I just mix everything together and “dump” into the fridge. Couldn’t wait to chill the cake enough and attempt to cut the cake, luckily the cake din fall apart when I lift the cake ring up. This round the sponge cake isn’t dry, moist but not spongy enough. As I use diary whipping cream and non-sweetened mango puree, I added some sugar during the whipping, fair enough it’s creamy and isn’t too sweet. I din melt the gelatin as like before hence I’ve a fair bit leftover in the bowl, so the mousse wasn’t as compact as I was hoping it is. I din do a good job in the aesthetic sense but nevertheless it satisfy my craving for a mousse cake especially after I had a slice of dry, stiff mousse cake from one of the cafe.

I will do a better job next time!

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Cakes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mango Mousse Cake

  1. Evan says:

    looks great to me tho’ =) its very lovely!

  2. Elyn says:

    Thanks 🙂 Loads of improvement on the next round.

Leave a Reply

