The Kitty Family

Hello Kitty Butter Cookies

I remember the failed attempts on cut-out cookies last Dec and have wanted to find another recipe before trying again – using my Hello Kiity Cookie Cutter. 

Inspired by this wonderful lady, I pluck up enough courage to try again and there isn’t any regrets. I put the dough in a plastic bag, roll out flat and put in the fridge for about 25 mins. Then I cut open 2 sides of the plastic bag, using the top layer on the dough and I roll out. I din have to use flour except on the top when I “stamp” the Kitty face on it other than that it’s a breeze to use this recipe. I also use the plastic bag to bind the dough from the leftover and roll again, keeping my rolling pin clean all the way.

I think they’re so adorable especially when I lay them out the cooling rack. The taste is also wonderful, not too buttery (I’m using Lurpak in this case). I had so much fun cutting them and I gonna prepare some tomorrow for my colleague’s kiddo! Nephew help himself to a few and stand in front of the cooling rack, refuse to move away till I promise I will let him pack them back home. I pass him a plastic container and he promptly put one by one in and hold on to it!

Note to myself – using LG SolarDom oven temperature is 165 degrees for 13 mins.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Cookies, Hello Kitty. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Kitty Family

  1. Hey Elyn, your kitty cookies look super sweet!! It’s a good idea to use the plastic wrap to roll out the dough…I tried using it too…but there were “marks” on the dough, and I wasn’t sure whether it would affect the surface of the cookies. So, after rolling the dough flat, I flipped it over to the other side before using the cutters to cut out the shapes. I gave some cookies to my niece and she told me they are too precious to eat! I promised her that she could come over my house to make them during the school holidays 🙂
    The taste and texture of the cookies are really good right?! Just a suggestion: you could “dress up” your HK a little by adding coloured icing on the eye and/or nose & the ribbon 😉

  2. Elyn says:

    Thank you so much for sharing your recipe, otherwise it won’t be a success. I’m not using cling wrap but those thin plastic bag (like the one you pack the fruits when you from supermarket), will see carefully if there is marks tomorrow 🙂 I will try the parchment paper method too. But I realise my cookies surface ain’t that smooth, a bit rough, is yours like that? Yes, I wanted to do the icing BUT my nephew took and kept all so I dun hv any left to try. I would also brown my cookie a little more the next time, they look pale now.

  3. Jacelyn says:

    Hi Elyn, I linked to your blog from SH @ Happy Homebaker. Your kitty cookies look so cute. =) Great blog too!

  4. Hi Elyn, oh yes, I was refering to those thin plastic bags…sorry, I wasn’t clear in my earlier comment :’P
    and the surface of my cookies were also a little rough…did you add corn flour as well? may be it’s due to the corn flour?? as the original recipe didn’t have this.
    Do post those cookies that you have iced 🙂

  5. Elyn says:

    Hi Jacelyn, thanks for dropping by 🙂 U’ve got a lovely blog, love the piggy cupcakes, they’re so cute!

  6. Elyn says:

    Hi SH, I tried the parchment paper today and I think it’s better, it absorbs all the butter oil! I follow your recipe to the T including the corn flour portion except I added vanilla essence. I suspect the rough surface of the cookies is due to the caster sugar, I realise they are quite visible during the rolling stage, is yours like that? I tried icing the cookies but they look more like Halloween Hello Kitty [I din do a good job :(] so I forgo the idea.

  7. Hi Elyn
    I didn’t notice the caster sugar on the dough. I creamed the butter and sugar mixture until the sugar almost dissolved. Your oven is very good…all your cookies are evenly baked/browned…my oven has got hotspots…so most of my bakes are unevenly browned 😦
    I am no good at icing or piping too. I tried icing cupcakes with my kids…suppose to make happy smily faces…but ended up looking like monsters, haha!

  8. ^cherie says:

    Aiyo.. so cute!

    Think my boys will love this to bitss if they see this 🙂

  9. Elyn says:

    Hi SH,
    I cream for quite long but somehow the sugar is still visible, could feel rolling on it when I roll out the dough. My oven also have hotspots, somehow near the middle, a few ones are more brown than the others despite that the plate actually turn when it bakes. I thought yours look okay?

    The advantages of this oven is probably I dun need to pre-heat and my baking time has really shorten with a reduced temperature so have to really watch during baking.

    I haven try my hands on icing, want to try on cupcakes … soon I hope! My want-to-bake list is just getting too long.

  10. Elyn says:

    Hi Cherie,

    Thanx for dropping by 🙂

    Thought your boys will love Thomas The Train more? Just like my nephew who love it. There is a set of cookie stamps available in the market, I’m sure they will be delight if you make some with those imprint 🙂

  11. ^cherie says:

    Hi Elyn,

    What kind of cookie stamps?? Where where? 🙂

    They also like Hello Kitty ah.. funny hor. But yeah. Thomas train anytime!

  12. maggie says:

    Hi Elyn,
    The Hello kitty cookies are so nice…
    can i have the cookies cutter?I like the imprint very much…
    DO you sell them or where can i get it.
    Hope you can help me to get them.
    Thanks..

Leave a Reply

