Hokkaido Milk Loaf

Hokkaido Milk Loaf

I love the aroma of freshly made bread 🙂

Was almost dozing off again till I remember I have not cut my loaf of bread. The bread is simply so good – it’s so soft. I added some raisins so it’s sufficient to eat it on it’s own! And now I am wide awake – savouring it with some butter spread and a cup of hot milo!

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Bread. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hokkaido Milk Loaf

  1. Hi Elyn, you did the Hokkaido Milk loaf as well! Believe it or not, I was thinking to tell you try it! It’s very good isn’t it? The texture is just right for me. Which brand of whipping cream did you use? I wasn’t actually sure which brand to use, so I bought the Bulla brand to try. Initially I wanted to add in raisins as well, but decided against it as I wasn’t sure whether the raisins will affect the texture? I noticed that those dough that are wet and sticky tend to give softer bread.

    As for your chocolate milk buns what came to mine was to replace coffee with milo 😉

  2. Elyn says:

    Hi!! I was hesitating at first but when I saw that you did the loaf, I immediately went to prepare the ingredients and leave the machine to do the job! Yes, the bread is very soft, mum took 2 slices at a good and say it’s addictive! But I select the medium crust which makes the outer layer quite dark. Is this consider a 1.5lb bread?

    I use the leftover PH diary whipping cream (the blue packet). The Bulla brand is call Heavy Cream right? I wasn’t very sure what that heavy cream except I use it once for cream scones.

    I felt the raisins give the bread an additional taste but I did soak the raisins in hot water for a short while to pump up the fruit so it does not taste dried and stiff.

    Ah … yes milo! That’s my comfort drink!

  3. Hey Elyn, you know what, I ate the remaining 2 slices this morning (left for 2 nights) and they were still soft and not dry at all! I think I will try with PH diary whiipping cream next time. Did you use the full amount or half it? For a rough gauge, if the amount of flour is around 300g, it’s considered a 1 lb (500g)small loaf, for 500g flour it’s 1.5 lb(750g) and for 625g flour it’s 1 kg(2 lb). As our machine is only set to 1.5 lb and 2 lb, I usually use the light crust setting so that the loaf will not be too dark.

    fyi, I found this Chinese site that has got a number of recipe for bread machine.

    btw, I learned that if you intend to use the machine at night, do start it at least 4 hours before your bedtime…3hrs for the full cycle, and 1 hr for the bread to cool. I started my machine around 7.30 pm, and got to stay till almost 11 plus to wait for the loaf to cool completely before I could slice and store it!

  4. Elyn says:

    My bread din stay till the 3rd night cos all it’s finish within 2 days! I half the recipe.

    Our Breadmaker has a timer so you can set delay timer and get a freshly made loaf in the morning.

    Thanks for the link! Will check it out, bread is so much more popular in my house.

  5. Hi again, yes I am aware of the delay function…but do note that if there’s milk, yogurt or eggs in the recipe, don’t use the delay function as these are perishables. Happy bread making :))

Leave a Reply

