Disney family!

Disney Cookies

Nephew was around for this weekend so it gave me the perfect excuse to try out the Disney Cookies cutters. The little boy enjoyed the cookies as usual, din forget to bring back and also a good time playing a little dough I given to him. He was very happy when he manage to “cut & stamp” the piglet and said aloud “Piglet!”.

Aside from the cookies, I also baked another loaf of Hokkaido Milk Loaf, miss how soft and fluffy the bread is. Added some chocolate chips but they were soon melted and I had a light brown loaf instead. Wanted to try out the jam function of the breadmaker and with ready ingredients on hand, I made Kaya! Should have made a white loaf to go with the Kaya instead. More on the Kaya making session, not like wat some of the floggers said to dump everything inside, do beat the eggs, sugar and coconut milk first so that you won’t have “unbroken” egg whites/yolks streaks in the custard. The breadmaker blade will give the custard a stir every few seconds so that save you the trouble of stiring. The whole process take 1 1/2 hrs. I find it a little watery so may try to add a little corn or plain flour next time, it should help to set the custard better. I vividly remember the custard will set slightly more after a night refrigeration.

Won’t be able to do much baking next week, probably another loaf of bread and hopefully a cake for Mothers Day. Lots of errands to run – collect passport, buy some necessities, pack luggage and ready to fly off on Monday! Won’t be back till Sunday night and hopefully I won’t lug back too many baking tools.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Cookies. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Disney family!

  1. Hi Elyn, wow you made kaya with the bread maker?! I’ll love to try it! I have wanted to bake another loaf of the Hokkaido Milky loaf this afternoon, but since I was going out, I used the delay function and made a plain bread loaf instead. It’s cooling on the rack now :))
    Have a great week ahead!

  2. cadenze says:

    Cute! Heh… I will be a hot favourite with the kids if I turn up at hubby’s family gathering with cookies like that.

  3. Elyn says:

    Hi SH! Yes, I made kaya with it. I wanted to make plain loaf to go with the Kaya but worried if I will overwork the machine so din in the end. We should exchange our bread huh? My colleague was so inspired after eating the Hokkaido Milk Loaf that she went to buy the Bluesky Breadmaker despite that she dunno how to bake and does not have an oven.

    I’ve posted the Kaya recipe up 🙂 Hope to see yours soon!

    I just hv to say it here again – your latest cake is soooooooo lovely! Dunno when I can make one like that.

  4. Elyn says:

    Hi Cadenze! Time to bring out your cookie cutters and make full use of it. Happy Homebaker has a good and reliable recipe. My sis said it taste like the butter cookies in a round tin that we had when we are young 🙂 For mine, I added vanilla essence.

  5. You know what Elyn, my friend seems to like the idea of the bread machine too…She can’t bake either…but she thinks the machine suits her…just need to throw everything inside and wait for the bread to come out 😀
    I added in vanilla essence for my last batch of cookies too, it tasted much better!
    You should give the Charlotte cake a try…it’s actually quite simple…you can use cream cheese filling…just like making a no-bake cheesecake.

Leave a Reply

