Macarons

The little skirts that sent the baking world crazy! – Macarons

I finally made an attempt today, I’ve read enough horror stories how the little “skirts” doesn’t form, the skin will crack. There are dozens of recipes online and many generously shared tips on how it should be done, like leaving the batter aside for 15 mins to “set” before you pipe cos it won’t be runny, how it should be dry – to form a skin once it is pipe. There are also different ways of setting temperature, some said to set preheat at a higher temperature then bake at a lower temperature. Some other instructions are bake at a really low temperature of 140 degrees then bring it higher at a later stage. For me, I decided that it’s time to try out the recipes in “Williams Sonoma – Essentials of Baking”.

Macarons 1The preparation does not take a lot of time, it’s the skillset – right from beating the egg whites to the right stage (which is stiff peak), to mixing in the ground almond, icing sugar. I read that there is possible cases of under-mixing or over-mixing. Then it’s the consistent piping that one need to take care of. Once these are done, it’s left to dry till a skin is formed or does not stick to the finger when gently touched.

I was eager to know if I will be able to get the little skirts or some call it the feet so I sat right in front of the oven to see how it is form and I hv to say the process is just so cute! You could see the little skirts forming to push the outer layer up, it’s just so satisfying! The first tray was not “photogenic” enough to be put up here cos I pipe them too close and I’ve 6 all stick together 😛 After learning that, I scrape out the other tray and re-pipe out. I did get the little “skirts”, it top din crack but it din rise up high enough, quite flat so I suspect I din whip the egg white enough. And the inside is soft and chewy. Thou I’ve reduce the sugar by 5g from the overall, it’s still super sweet even for me who has a sweet tooth. No pics of the end product, dun want u all to have bad impression of macarons 😛

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Macarons. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Macarons

  1. wingigi says:

    Hi

    Do u bake these lovely macarons on silpat? I wanna bake these lovely “skirts” too but simply have no courage as I hv heard enuff horrors abt them….=(

    happy baking ~

  2. Elyn says:

    Hi Wingigi, no .. I din bake these on silpat. I use one baking tray with 2 sheets of greaseproof paper but I also read to use 2 baking trays with greaseproof proof paper.

    It’s definitely worth giving a shot, more for the sake of satisfaction and seeing where you are, I’m sure you will be thrilled when you see the little skirts forming.

  3. Chawanmushi says:

    Hi Elyn
    Congrats on you baking your first macarons!
    No stress hor LOL I can see your batter is so nicely rounded.

  4. Elyn says:

    Hi Cecily … er … some big some small, quite difficult to control and I realise it will spread bigger during the drying and baking process. I’m wondering how come there isn’t height, I guess I din whip the egg white stiff enough 😦 I had to throw away the batch after eating 2, it’s yummy thou but it’s tooooo sweet! Would you like to have this recipe to try?

  5. Blur Mommy says:

    Hey, I just made that too!! Even though mine’s a little flat but I very thick-skinned, still show the result… hehehe…. For a first attempt, I’m very happy with the result. Will have to try again. After all practice makes perfect, right?

Leave a Reply

