Orange Madeleines

Madeleines

 

Mini Madeleines MouldI love Madeleines, I tried making it without a proper mould then and have been waiting to get a proper mould before making it again. I look out for madeleines mould whenever I go and it’s either they are too big, the shape isn’t nice and after several round, I end up with SilikoMart Mini Madeleines Silicone Mould. It’s a breeze to remove the madeleines from the mould cos it’s silicone ware.

Am using a different recipe which doesn’t require overnight or a few hours of waiting for the batter to be ready but I do realise the 1st batch has no “humps” but the 2nd batch which I put in the fridge while baking the 1st batch, rise better and has a little hump.

Orange Madeleines
You need

2 large eggs
90g granulated sugar (which I will suggest reducing it to 80g, it’s too sweet)
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp vanilla extract (essence)
1/4 tsp almond extract (essence)
75g plain flour, sifted
1 tsp grated orange zest
60g salted butter, melted and cooled

What to do
1. Preheat oven to 190 degrees. Do grease the moulds generously with room temperature moulds if you aren’t using silicone or non-stick moulds.
2. Dust the moulds with flour, tilting the pan to coat the surfaces evenly and tap away the excess.
3. In a large bowl, combine the eggs, granulated sugar and salt. Beat on medium-high speed until pale, thick and fluffy, for about 5 mins.
4. Beat in the vanilla and almond essence.
5. Sprinkle the sifted flour over the egg mixture and mix on low speed to incorporate.
6. Fold in the orange zest and half of the melted butter just until blended.
7. Fold in the remaining butter.
8. Fill the moulds with batter till almost full.
9. Bake at 190 degrees for 8-12 mins till lightly spring back when touched or lightly brown.
10. Remove the madeleines and invert it on a cooling rack.
11. Make sure the moulds are cool before baking the 2nd batch. Leave the rest of the batter in the fridge (covered) while baking.

Yields : 50 mini madeleines

Storage : Cover with plastic wrap and store at room temperature for up to 3 days. Before serving, heat the cookies in 120 degrees until warm, then dust with icing sugar.

Source : Williams Sonoma – Essentials of Baking

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Cakes, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Orange Madeleines

  1. jadelotus says:

    Yo Elyn.. Very nice Madeleines… very cute … i thot u have the mould from IMM-Daiso? U tried that mould? 🙂

  2. Elyn says:

    Thanks jadelotus 🙂 I do not have “yuan fen” wif the mould, everytime I hear it’s available, by the time I go down it’s already sold out. I waited for so long and gave up to buy this instead which is a breeze to use cos it’s silicone, which makes removing the madeleines easier.

  3. Rebecca says:

    Hi Elyn, did you get the silkomart mould online?

  4. Elyn says:

    Hi Rebecca, no I got them from Phoon Huat, they have got a good range of silicone moulds. Are you based in Singapore?

  5. ovenhaven says:

    Hi Elyn, such lovely madeleines! They look perfect 🙂 I’ve been contemplating baking madeleines for some time now, but am still undecided between the metal moulds or the silicon ones at PH. Judging from how lovely your madeleines look, I can’t wait to try my hand at madeleines!

  6. Elyn says:

    Hi , I’m a regular reader of your blog :)I like the way you take your pictures!
    I tried baking them on non-stick small muffins tin before and thou I’ve grease them but it still stick whilst it’s so easy to remove from the silicone one. PH also have the bigger one which you may want to consider, now I find mine too small 😦 only good for kiddos. Btw, if you’re trying the recipe I’ve posted, you may want to omit the almond essence, I tasted another one and find that there are too many flavours – vanilla, orange and almond?!

  7. ovenhaven says:

    Thanks for the compliments; I still have a long way to go, though. :p Btw, I went to Jurong East’s PH today and saw the silicone moulds you used. Yup, they’re pretty small huh? What made matters worse was that I couldn’t find any other madeleine moulds at that branch, so I didn’t get myself any. Such a downer! 😦

  8. Elyn says:

    Oh dear … actually they have another type, non-stick like a seashell which is quite heavy, I think it’s about S$17+? I saw a similar type, normal non-stick material and it’s only S$13.20 – Haig Road Gim Hin Lee 🙂 Hope you get the mould soon!

  9. reena says:

    So tempted to get this too! The Daiso ones I got turned rusty 😦 Think it’s time to invest in a good mould now.

  10. Elyn says:

    Hey … if u like to try out first, I can pass you mine, let me know?

Leave a Reply

