Japanese Baked Cheesecake

Japanese Cheesecake

I have been saying for so long that I want to attempt to make this cake and finally put my act together today. The cake is soft and moist but I find it a little bland, was thinking if I can add in some vanilla essence? I’m using an 8″ tin but I find it a little short so the next time I’m going to try on a 7″ springform which is taller. The preparation process isn’t as scary, just that I took a while to “strain” the cream cheese thru a sieve so the texture is smooth. Probably the next time I will “mesh” the cream cheese first before adding into the milk? The oven temperature is another crucial factor, I set at the temperature as per the recipe but reduce the baking time and covered with a pc of greaseproof paper but I still have a little small crack on top so I will need to reduce the temperature further. Probably will bake another one to bring back to office tomorrow?

The recipe can be retrieve from here.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Cakes. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Japanese Baked Cheesecake

  1. michelle says:

    hahas,nice cheesecake you have there!
    i always wanted to bake a cheesecake but too scared cus its not an easy cake yeah?chiffon cake as well! really envy you guys who can bake cakes & cookies so well 😦

  2. Reena says:

    Finally!! After procrastinating for so long, huh? PH or Philly cream cheese you used? I always have problem melting the cream cheese, heard the Philly tub is easiest to melt.

    I tried another recipe and I find the cheese taste mild too. Game to try?

  3. Elyn says:

    Hi Michelle, thank you 🙂 It isn’t scary, for cheesecake you could try the non-baked then the normal one. This one will need to whip egg white to stiff peak which could be tricky, I can’t do it well too. I’ve a Bailey Cheesecake and have include some tips in that post, you may like to take a look!

  4. Elyn says:

    Hi Reena, ya … finally but I took 1 1/2 hrs for the preparation, spent some time to strain the cream cheese. I used PH, will try Anchor one tomorrow and also add some vanilla essence. Probably won’t make this again, I dun really like 😛

  5. reena says:

    The recipe I tried does not need to strain the cream cheese, much simpler process and no need stiff peak, just soft peak will do. But since you don’t like this, then dun bother. If you do change your mind and want to bake this again, let me know. Anyway, you can get the same recipe from KC & IK.

  6. Elyn says:

    I just bake another cheesecake today, shld have try this recipe instead. I felt it’s best eaten cold … it does taste much better after an overnite stay in the fridge 😛

Leave a Reply

