Japanese Baked Cheesecake II

Japanese Baked Cheesecake III

Another attempt! cos I wanted to bring one back to office tomorrow 🙂

This time I leave the cream cheese for a few hours in room temperature and there are lesser lumps. Strain throu a sieve and also added 1/4 tsp of vanilla essence, am curious how it taste like 🙂

Am also getting more comfortable wif whisking egg white to stiff peak which used to be my big phobia. With the previous experience, I lined the base of the cake tin with greaseproof paper and the base look good and neat this round! Also do not have any problem with the sides cos it tend to shrink a little after it is baked and I use a springform tin.

Set 10 degrees lower than the recipe stated but baked at full timing. I only cover with aluminium foil only after 20 mins later. I’m so glad that there isn’t any crack and the cake shrink a little evenly throughout after it is cool. I did leave it in the oven for like 30 mins before removing. The only question is the top does not seem to be evenly brown?

And the cheesecake do taste yummy and has a tinge of cheese after an overnite stay in the fridge 😛

Another to-do recipe accomplished!

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Cakes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Japanese Baked Cheesecake II

  1. Elyn, congrats! Your cheese cake looks good, great job! I admire your courage to try new things. Like you, I’ve always wanted to make a Jap cheese cake, but so far I have yet to try beating egg whites…I wonder when I’ll ever pick up the courage to do so?!

  2. Elyn says:

    Hi SH, thanks 🙂 actually I admire you even more cos you’ve made pretty whole cakes complete with icing which I haven.

    Agree that beating egg white could be a nitemare but this round, probably with the help of cream of tartar, it was easier and more stable. Just have to pay more attention during whipping, stopping to check the right stage, that will be alright. Give it a try!

  3. hey Elyn, thanks for the encouraging words…I may really give a chiffon cake a try soon!

  4. Elyn says:

    I haven’t try making chiffon cake too.

Leave a Reply

