Tiramisu Take II

Tiramisu IIa

 Tiramisu IIb

Wikipedia : Tiramisu is an Italian dessert typically made from ladyfinger cookies, espresso coffee, mascarpone cheese, eggs, cream, sugar, Marsala wine, cocoa, and rum. The Italian name tiramisù means “pick-me-up” (metaphorically, “make me happy,” although it could have a more sexual meaning). At least to me, I know it’s a happy and satisfying dessert one can’t forget.

I’ve been wanting to make another attempt of this lovely dessert, following the first try. I din’t want my Bailey to become another white elephant in the fridge.Knowing I have time to spare tonight, I went to buy another pack of cream cheese and lady fingers. I was also hoping this satisfying dessert is going to bring a little joy to my colleagues and myself this Monday.

So the layer of Tiramisu goes like this – sponge fingers -> syrup -> cocoa powder -> cream -> sponge fingers -> syrup -> cocoa powder and finally another layer of cream -> cocoa powder

I learnt my lesson from the previous experience.
– I once again use the microwave to “soften” the cream cheese, it’s so much easier to cream and to think I used to leave it at room temperature.
– I used non-dairy whipping cream this round and patiently whip to medium peak. Oh, this remind me of – mixer is increasingly showing its limitations. Kenwood has just launch a new entry level and more affordable stand mixer, I went to see the demo and wrote a whole entry about it but it went missing! another post on this.
– I use another way of putting the cream this round and had no problem of the cocoa powder sticking.
– But I made a mistake by putting the cocoa powder on the last layer first cos I will need to cut to smaller sizes to bring back to office.
– It wasn’t as messy as before but my sink is filled to the brim with all the utensils.

There is a website dedicated to this italian dessert, read more here.

Note for myself : for 7″ X 7″ square ring, use 1/2 portion of cream and 1/2 portion of syrup.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Cakes. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tiramisu Take II

  1. reena says:

    Oh.. you are tempting me again!! Your Tiramisu looks good! No pics on the final product?

  2. Elyn says:

    Now in the fridge resting so can only cut tomorrow, will take a pic for record 🙂

  3. reena says:

    Can keep some for me? 😛

  4. I like the way you put all the different ingredients into one photo! great picture!

  5. Elyn says:

    Reena, of course! Now it’s when u can collect 😛

    SH, thanks!

Leave a Reply

