Baking Books

Baking Books

Aren’t they pretty? Feel like ordering a few of them from Taiwan and it will still be cheaper than I buy them in Singapore (if they have) after taking into consideration the shipping cost. I have read pretty good reviews on 孟老師的100道麵包 (it comes with a 3hr DVD) and it has run out of stock at Kino. I like the online shopping mode in Taiwan, the other time I went Taipei, I place online order when I’m in Singapore and arrange for delivery to their convenience store (7-11) near the hotel. Once I reach Taipei, I just have to drop by, produce the receipt, make payment and collect. It’s so convenient and I only pay when I collect the books from the store.

Went to the library this morning before their opening hours at 10am (dun understand why dun they open earlier since it’s a weekend when pple have more time to run errands). Well … I was surprise to see pple standing right in front of the roller shutter, to the extend that their face is just 10cm away from the shutter! You would have thought there is a big sale going on, anyway the min the shutter rolls up, they rush in! By the time I went in, the new books area are half gone. I seriously dun understand what is the rush?

I pick up this Japanese bread today and it’s really interesting. The different ways of making bread with pictures are really helpful. The Japan version of sweet bread dough is just like the Hokkaido Milky Bread with whipping cream added in. I’ve yet to try out one recipe so I’m not sure if it’s accurate. I have read that there are recipes published which is not workable?!!

For those who are interested, the new shipment is coming in to Kino by this coming Tues, 31/7 and retail at S$26 +.

I have a Kino voucher given last yr bd which I have not utilise. Couldn’t decide what to buy all these while, probably will get this one 🙂

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Baking Books

  1. Hi Elyn, I’ve borrowed 孟老師的100道麵包 before and other than the one on macarons, and the one on small cakes, the rest are available in the library…I’ve either borrowed them before or seen them on the shelves. and yes, one copy of the Jap Bread is with me 🙂

  2. Elyn says:

    Wow … looks like I must visit the library more often 🙂 Is the Teacher Meng’s book good?

    So you’re holding on to the same book as me now. Have u tried any of the recipes? The bread look so good, right?

  3. Ireneyongal says:

    Elyn,
    U can tried at PageOne (Vivo City) – they have loads of baking books from Taiwan (especially from YTower Publishing). I got my macarons one from Popular Toa Payoh Br at $10.90.

  4. Elyn says:

    Irene, thanks so much for the info. Will sure drop by Popular Toa Payoh to check it out 🙂

  5. Ida says:

    ok… looks like i shd really visit the library one of these days! but i’m really greedy leh, i prefer to own the book! LOL

  6. Elyn says:

    Ida, same here! prefer to own the book but cannot buy every one so will only buy those that I like 🙂

  7. small cookie says:

    so envy that you guys can read chinese recipes. Though I pass Chinese, I am totally hopeless when comes to recipes in Chinese.

  8. Elyn says:

    not a big problem, I ever read Japanese recipe website (using an online translator) and manage to understand what is it about. The ingredients are more or less the same so just hv to “identify” them! kekeke

  9. Elyn, I borrowed 孟老師的100道麵包 sometime back…at that time I have not ventured into bread-making yet…so I just borrowed it and browse thru…can’t really remember it, hehe! and I have yet to look thru the Jap Bread book. Sometimes, I just borrow the books to look at the beautiful photos…some of the recipes are just too difficult for me to handle! haha!

  10. Bernice says:

    Hi Elyn, I’m curious on which is the site that you visit to order these chinese books?

    On the side note, I always have problems reading chinese recipe coz I can’t translate it into English so most of the time, I don’t know what the ingredient is. =X

  11. Elyn says:

    Hey SH, thought there is a few interesting an rather simple bread recipes in the Japanese bread book to try but weekends are so short so it’s only 1 or 2 recipes I can try. Same here, love nice nice pixs of recipes book, at times I’m attracted more to the pixs than the recipes.

  12. Elyn says:

    Hi Bernice, there is a few websites you could try :

    1. http://www.books.com.tw – they do delivery right to Singapore and pretty reasonably priced.

    2. http://www.eslite.com.tw or http://www.kingstone.com.tw

    For myself, I got my fren to resend them to me, it’s cheaper that way 🙂

    For the Eng/Chinese translation, you could refer here http://www.leisure-cat.com/frm_5018.htm

  13. Bernice says:

    Thanks Elyn!! I’ve placed order for some books for my mum on the first site. Looking forward to receving the books!!! =D

  14. mary says:

    The book with the macarons looks pretty. Has anyone tried the recipe in the book yet.

  15. Ari-chan says:

    HI, I really like your site! would you post or email me the information (if possible) on these books so I and anyone else can order them? (IBSN # (and/or title) the two I would like to order are the macaroon and tiramisu books. Thank you for your time!

  16. Elyn says:

    Hi Ari-Chan, thanks 🙂 the books can be ordered from books.com.tw, they have a variety of cookbooks there so do browse thru them.

  17. Ari-chan says:

    Hi everyone! I found a site that has neat cookbooks that ships to the US. The prices are good same for shipping. the link is:

    http://www.66emart.com/

    for baking:
    http://www.66emart.com/en/category/3_4_9/index_home.html

    Some of the books are in English and Chinese

  18. Ari-chan says:

    I found a site that sells some of the books in this post and many more and they ship to the US!

    I’ll paste some of the direct links to the books now.

    The site is yesasia.com

    Tiramisu:
    http://www.yesasia.com/us/jie-kai-ti-la-mi-su-de-mi-mi/1004541116-0-0-0-en/info.html

    I have to go, I’ll post the rest later

  19. Elyn says:

    Hi Ari-chan, thanks for sharing! Actually it’s cheaper to order from books.com.tw, they ship internationally too!

Leave a Reply

