Happy Birthday Singapore!

SG Flag 02

The bottom layer is agar agar and the white crescent/stars are of almond jelly cos there isn’t white agar agar or coloring around. The stars are handcut so they dun look very neat, I can’t find this size star shape cutter and I realise I don’t have a star shape cookie cutter! How can?? So that will add on to my ever-growing shopping list. Well, I bought more stuff these few days … shall do an update this weekend.

Actually the crescent/star was done on a transparent layer of agar agar and sandwiched or”buried” in between the red layers but the inexperienced me din remember that the transparent will reflect the base color which is red so you could hardly figure out the shapes there. I tweaked this picture a fair bit to show how the effect should be. So I had to make another layer of almond jelly and did a cut out.

Btw, this is for a school National Day celebration 🙂

Nevertheless I had fun and enjoy the preparation process.

SG Flag 01

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Thots. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Happy Birthday Singapore!

  1. hey Elyn, this is very nice! My younger boy is with me when I’m reading your blog now. Once he saw the photos, he said “I Love Singapore!!!” and started to sing all those national day songs he has learned from school 🙂

  2. gossamerelf says:

    yo, so patriotic eh u! Happy BD Spore!!!

  3. Elyn says:

    Hi SH, thanks 🙂 Would want to do it better the next time, probably next year 😛 I remember those songs too like count on me singapore!

  4. Ida says:

    Wow… u did it! very nice!

  5. Elyn says:

    Hi Ida, thanks … but the star shape not nicely cut 😦

Leave a Reply

