Baked Mini Donuts – Attempt 2

Donuts 04

I made another attempt today! Luckily they are all really small and it’s not deep fried so it’s quite easy to eat. After going through a few recipes, I did a mix and match and finally I got the right consistency. 

This is how the baked mini donuts look like in the tray, I filled the batter slightly less than half and you get a shorter height. If you fill it slightly more than half, the batter will rise and you can’t see the hole on top!

Donuts 05

 Freshed baked from the oven, cooling on the rack. This is how it looks like once it’s overturn, it actually has a a very thin “layer” outside.

Donuts 06

 I din dip into chocolate but use melted chocolate to decorate the donuts and put them into individual cases or it could be more quite messy when you want to pick up and eat 😛

I made a lot today, for giveaways and also to bring back to office for my personal panel of judges for their comments 😛

Passed some to a fren and she will be ordering some for the child birthday, she wanted something different than the usual cakes. It will be fun to decorate them!

Donuts 07

 This is the texture, I won’t say it’s close the deep fried version but it’s definitely much much better than yesterday version. It’s more cakelike, soft and a little spongy. At least it’s more healthy, there is only very little oil/butter inside and the rest are the usual flour, sugar etc.

 Donuts 08

I like this shot, the donuts are actually lined up in one whole row.
So what’s on the other end?

Donuts 09

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Baking tools. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Baked Mini Donuts – Attempt 2

  1. ida says:

    yay! I’ll be getting to eat one of these! just when i’m having a craving…. can’t wait!

  2. Elyn says:

    Hope you will like it 🙂

  3. Es says:

    Wow wow looks yummy. I have this thing for donuts.
    Have been your silent avid reader for quite sometime now.
    Mind if you share / mail me the recipe? Will appreciate it loads!
    Oh yea, where did you order your donut pan from and how much did it cost?
    =)

  4. Your make me want to make these mini-donuts right away for my boys. I’m sure my younger one will love it! I like the beautiful shots of your donuts. Your photography skills are excellent. Your photos are all very well taken, clear, sharp, with very clean-cut background. I have been trying to copycat your style (hope you don’t mind?!!) but I am still very very far from it…

  5. lrfoodies says:

    Those look great! It’s always a silent battle in our house as far as desserts go: my husband and I both love them, but I don’t eat fried food and rarely eat sugar. These look like a great compromise on a classic favorite. Is there any way you could e-mail this recipe?

    Your pictures, by the way, are awesome. This is the first post of yours I have read, but are you a professional food photographer? You could be 🙂

  6. ^cherie says:

    Hi Elyn,

    Aiyoh.. lovely donuts!!

    Are they baked? Not fried? The pan is silicone huh? It looks like steel to me! Are u ordering soon? If u are, count me in can? *drool*

  7. ^cherie says:

    LOL.. sorry sorry, was too excited when i saw the pics, posted the questions above before reading your content. Now that i did, i’ve already found the answer to my own questions 🙂

  8. I’m not a fan of doughnuts but these make me just wanna take a bite out of the screen 😀

  9. Robyn says:

    Those are some seriously good looking donuts and photos.

    I’m not sure if I’ve commented before but I adore your bakes and blog. 🙂

  10. Teresa says:

    It is definitely more healthy to bake donuts than fry them. Good job! I’m also doing my vegan version of bake donuts! Kudos to healthy recipes!

  11. Anne says:

    your doughnuts are just perfect! I love how you captured them…beautiful 🙂

  12. small cookie says:

    wow wow wow…. where is my share? After seeing yours, I am also tempted to attempt to add to my donut craze collection. hehehe

  13. Lousy Baker says:

    Your donuts are so cute and make me drool!

  14. delia says:

    Hi Elyn,
    Your doughnuts really make me drool. Moreover, it’s bake and not fried. My daughters love doughnuts. Can share the recipe with me? Thanks!

  15. Elyn says:

    Hi Es, I got the donut pan from Gim Hin Lee at S$10.80, Sun Lik has it for S$6 plus too but as far as I know both places are out of stock at the moment. Check yr mailbox!

    Hi SH, thanks so much for your kind words. Am still a newbie in both photography and baking. There are limitations I could do wif my existing camera as it’s only 4MP and there isn’t much settings I could do. Feel you have also been taking your pixs with more interesting angles! Let’s work hard together 🙂

    Hi Irfoodies, thanks for your compliments 🙂 I ain’t a food photographer, just a newbie. Check your mailbox!

    Hi Cherie, thecoffeesnub, Robyn, Teresa, Anne, Edith, Lousybaker, Delia, thanks for all the kind words 🙂

  16. jadelotus says:

    Hi Biscuit, just saw your post on the donuts. Do u mind share the recipe? I would like to make it for the my ah girl childcare gathering session. Oh ya, I have the kenwood mixer too but mine is in RED. My husband say that look like a F1 car.. kekekke..

  17. Rochelle says:

    Wow, those look good! I have the regular size metal donut pan but have never used it. I misplaced the recipes that came with it, I’ll have to look for them. You inspired me to try to bake some.

  18. BBerry says:

    Hi,
    Is your donut pan the 12 hole type?
    can you share your recipe?

    rgds,
    BBerry

  19. Alice says:

    Hi Elyn,

    Your donuts look so tempting.
    Can you share the recipe with me.
    Would love to try it out.

  20. rita says:

    Hi Elyn, i’m very excited after discovering your blog on bake donut, i’m crazy abt donut and wonder if you can kindly share the recipe with me.

    The photos in your site is very well taken and very impressive, very very nice.

  21. Sally says:

    Hi your donuts are so lovely!! Would love to bake them. Appreciate if you could share the recipe. Thanks. Sally

  22. Helen says:

    Hi there!! Your donuts look divine!!

    I love your photos! they really are making my mouth water!

    i just bought a silicone mini donut pan and am so disappointed that it has not come with any recipes. I have searched the web, and have yet to find one for a donut pan! and i’m dying to try it out!

    Would you mind sharing your recipe with me too?

    I would really appreciate it! 🙂

    Have a wonderful day!
    🙂

  23. Moji says:

    WOW! very sexy Donuts! Your donuts look so YUMMY!!! and make me drool Mmmmm…. can you share your recipe? Thank you.

  24. connie wickham says:

    Wow… I got this pan at a yard sale to make these mini baked donuts with my son. But I cant find a recipe that works….Could you Please ,Please, Please, send me yours???

    Thank You

    Conniewickham@sbcglobal.net

  25. Geraldine says:

    hi, i just stumbled upon yr post on mini doughnuts – extremely gorgeously made. and yr pics are very pro. Would you mind sharing the recipe with me? much appreciated.

    Cheers!

  26. marie says:

    hi Elyn love the look of your doughnuts they look really good dont suppose you could email me the recipe please as my kids would love them.

    thanks

  27. Diana says:

    I also just bought this pan.
    Would you please email recipe.
    Love your pictures.
    Thank you.

  28. rainsg says:

    Hi Elyn,
    your donuts look great . can share with me your recipe ? I wanna try it on my donut maker. Thanks

Leave a Reply

