How many Macarons are there?

Dried egg whites is one of the essential ingredient in making these macarons. Not only that it’s not easily available but it’s also pretty costly. I finally gotten a packet of it so there is no more reason to put off making these out from my own kitchen.

I would categorised making these gems to -> if I have spare time. The ground almond tend to stick together a little which makes the sifting difficult and there is the re-grinding process. I realise I’m short of 10g when I’ve reached this stage, they are either stuck in the container or on the table! Whipping up the egg whites by hand is surprisingly easy followed by mixing the rest of the ingredients is still managable. Piping out is alright too, if I have promptly draw out the circles beforehand as a guideline, the end result isn’t too bad considering that the difference in size between them is less than 5% 😛 Then it’s waiting for it to dry which require no effort from my end, I just leave them alone. Even thou the recipe call to bake at 150 degrees which I lower down to 140 degrees midway, my first tray of shells crack a little. I baked the second tray at 130 degrees for a mere 8 mins and they are done. One of the ways to remove the macarons from the baking sheet is to pour some water underneath the baking sheet to cool them. Somehow I was taking this baking project a little easy than usual probably becos I expect a failure right from the first place. And guess what I end up with? Macarons in swimming pool! hahaha … some of them had a good swim in this hot weather.

Comparing to the other recipe I have tried, this is definitely a better recipe, most imptly it isn’t that sweet. The shell is crisp whilst the inside is chewy which I vividly remember the texture is right – if my memory din fail me. The little skirts is also there. From what I have read up, there are 2 preparation method – either by the sugar syrup method or the whipping egg white method. The first method will give you a taller macaron and supposely has a higher success rate.

So after the preparation -> baking -> washing-> there comes the photoshoot time. I took a few shots and is hesitating if I should post up this entry since there seems to be nothing much to be written (thou after pulling here and there a bit, there is still this entry) and I saw this rather interesting shot -> so how many macarons are there here?? 3, 6 or 9??

It’s definitely a fun bake and these babies are really a challenge! so please do not think that a dollar plus for each macaron is expensive, it really take a lot of time and effort to make each of them 🙂

Oh yes, I can’t wait to receive my new selection of bakewares which fits perfectly the festive season that is coming! I was telling myself that I MUST have them when I first spotted them.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Macarons. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to How many Macarons are there?

  1. Bernice says:

    Hey Elyn, you’re right, making macarons is definitely fun!!! Do play with more flavours and wow us with your beautiful pictures the next time you’re free!!! =D

  2. Anne says:

    Thank you for the informative post. I’ve been wanting to try my hand on these but I still don’t have enough courage to make it 🙂

  3. ida says:

    Congrats on yr successful macs! you’ve finally conquered them. 🙂

  4. krish says:

    hi. will u be sharing this recipe? or is it a friends secret recipe which u cant share..hehe

    cheers

  5. Elyn says:

    Hi Bernice, thanks for your compliments 🙂

    Hi Ann, I’m sure you will be able to do a better job cos you seem to be more patient than me. This gems need a lot of time.

    Hi Ida, Thanks 🙂 but I only consider myself a 30% pass so must try a few more times.

    Hi Krish, I would love to share the recipe if I could. Do a google and you will find lots of them!

  6. Ellena says:

    Hi Elyn,

    Wow.. Nice Shells you have there… Jai You! Hope to see more of your macarons post…..So far, which macaron filling do u prefer best?

  7. Small cookie says:

    great job! first try already have those tiny feets. This is a good cookie but toothaching sweet. BTW, I am now very curious what new toys you are bringing in. hehehee…

Leave a Reply

