Cookies n Cream Cupcake

I tend to overstock my pantry at times as I dun hv any supermarket near me so stuff like sour cream, whipping cream, heavy cream, strawberries, cream cheese is not easily available. I remember I had to throw away 2 tubs of sour cream cos I din use them and thereafter I make sure I really need to use them before I buy cos they hv a shorter expiry date. And now I have 500g of cream cheese expiring this month end and another 1kg next month! I could do a cheesecake but either I’m lazy or I wasn’t in the mood to do so. I’m not sure about you but I’ve ask a few bakers, the bakes dun turn out good (even thou you hv make them umpteen times) when you din do it with heart . I’ve some Oreo Cookies (hm … also expiring next month) and I also wanted to try out the “500 cupcakes/muffins” book I newly bought so here I have – Cookies n Cream Cupcake.

 

It’s a relatively easy recipe but instead of buttercream, I use cream cheese frosting cos I feel it will balance off the sweetness of the cupcake.

What you need :
225g unsalted butter, soften
225g caster sugar
225g self-raising flour
1 tsp baking powder
4 eggs
1 tsp vanilla essence
10 crushed Oreo Cookies

What to do :
1. Preheat the oven to 170 degrees.
2. Combine all ingredients (except the Oreo Cookies) in a large bowl and beat with an electric whisk until smooth and pale, about 2-3 mins.
3. Stir in the cookies.
4. Fill the cases 2/3 full and bake for 20 mins.
5. Cool on rack when it’s ready.

Storage :
Store without icing in airtight container for 3 days or freeze up to 3 months.

Icing :
Beat 200g cream cheese with 170g icing sugar till smooth and spread on top of cooled cupcakes.

Yield :
18 regular size cupcakes.

Notes :
– I reduce the sugar to 200g.
– I din follow their preparation method but the creaming of butter/sugar, add egg then fold in flour.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Cupcakes/Muffins. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cookies n Cream Cupcake

  1. Bernice says:

    Hey, I have that book as well but have never make anything yet. I realised that most of the recipes requires beating all the ingredients together which is a little strange yea?

  2. mel says:

    I came across your blog from M4M and i love the pictures (and food) on your blog! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  3. ovenhaven says:

    If you ever publish a cookbook, can the first photo be the cover pic? It looks absolutely great 🙂

  4. ida says:

    lovely photos! looks like you’ve “conquered” yr new cam too. 🙂

    the cupcakes must have tasted delicious too.

  5. Elyn says:

    Hi Bernice, Yes I spotted that too but din want to take the risk and stick with the good old method.

    Hi Mel, thanks for dropping by 🙂

    Hi Ovenhaven, Hm … I think for me to publish shld not be possible. I’m still in the experimenting stage! Thanks for your kind words!

    Hi Ida, not really ah. This camera has many more functions and they noe me (probably) but I dunno there. Need to ask the expert! Some of them like the cupcake but some don’t, I am happy with it! Give it a try!

  6. sweet-tooth says:

    the cupcakes sure look yummy ;D

  7. Sherlyn says:

    Hi Elyn,

    I m new to baking. Tried your cupcake recipe and I followed your method rather then the book’s method too. The cupcake turn out so light, soft and fluffy inside that it almost taste like a chiffon cake. I wondered if yours is the same ? I just wanna check if I did it right.

    Also I hv a hobby blog where I jot down my baking experiences so would you mind if I link the recipe i tried to yours? (even for future recipes that I take from your blog to try)

    Thank you.

  8. Elyn says:

    Hi Sherlyn, thanks for dropping by! Yes, my cupcake texture is also like that. Do go ahead and link to my blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

