Orange Yogurt Cake

I’ve seen Happy Homebaking and Precious Moments making this simple cake. And of course I like how easy it is to prepare 🙂 I had this recipe in mind and remember to grab a tub of yogurt from the supermarket today.

Unfortunately there is a small crack on the top of the cake despite I’ve covered it with an aluminium foil in the last 10 mins, looks like I need to lower the temperature down and I need to understand the oven more.

I used Orange Zest and the aroma during the baking was really good! However like Happy Homebaking, mine wasn’t fluffy and light. It was kinda dense, similar to a pound cake. I’m wondering what’s wrong, did I overmix? I suspect I overbake the cake. Nevertheless, the cake is still very tasty. I’m going to give this another try again.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Cakes. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Orange Yogurt Cake

  1. Hi Elyn, your cake sure looks delicious 😀
    What kind of yogurt did you use? I was told that the cake is not fluffy due to the yogurt. Do not use non-fat yogurt (which I did), it’s best to use Greek-style yogurt.

  2. Elyn says:

    Hi SH, I used Marigold Low-Fat, din think that it will affect. I couldn’t find the Greek-style yogurt at Cold Storage. But I suspect I overbake. Or is it that the cake need to be “moisture” with the glaze overnight?

  3. ^cherie says:

    Wow Elyn, gorgeous photos!!

    Do u take the photo using natural light?

    btw, the cake looks delicious! 🙂

  4. Elyn says:

    Hi Cherie, thanks for your kind words! I took the shot during the day, with natural light which is a good substitute for studio lights. I try not to take pics at night cos the florescent light will cast a blue tint on the object, hv yet to learn if this can be overcome.

  5. Yan says:

    Hi Elyn

    Newbie to your blogpage via Aunty Yochana’s link.
    Love the way your bakes looks & your fotography projects simple classic that send me drooling. (as always greedy over nice bakes. whats new. =p)

    cheerios
    yan

  6. Anne says:

    I was looking at your cake yesterday and I have this craving to make it again.. I love this cake since it’s so simple to make and at the same time taste very good 🙂

    Your photos are excellent!

  7. Small cookie says:

    I used a low fat yoghurt and it works out well for me. Perhaps over mixing.

  8. Aimei says:

    I baked one orange yogurt cake as well but my top cracked alot. :p Yours looked good. Good luck on your next try. I will try that again too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

