Christmas Decorated Cookies

Spend this afternoon trying out new cookie cutters and also exploring which is the best way to cut out cookies from dough etc. It’s definitely a fulfilling afternoon.

The normal one is Orange Butter Cookies, I merely replace vanilla essence with orange essence, shld hv added some orange rind too! The Chocolate one need no further introduction. I love the orange ones, the aroma is very good when it’s baking but I could have added a little more. The next I am going to try is lemon, dunno if banana will work? I’ve bottle of banana essence from the mooncake making session. That is the problem with all these essence, coloring. Am so glad to find a partner to share all these now!

And how I like the color of baked cookies now, a little brown on the edges however the chocolate one is a bit difficult to identify, it’s all brown.

The next step is to try decorating them. So this is how my first trial on cookie decorating look like. I just can’t bring myself to fill the whole cookie with royal icing so I’m keeping it to outline now, and I’m happy with it. When I first saw “giant” cookie cutters (at least to us), I always think how to eat them and why would pple want to make such big cookies TILL I see how my nephew is holding one cookie on hand that I’m convinced. I can’t put that to words but that moment is so satisfying. My sis help him to call me the other day and he particularly told me he wanted to make gingerbread man today. Of course before I could snap a picture of it, he merrily took 2 and chomp down. It’s definitely fun decorating these cookies and I’m sure going to practise more!

In case you’re wondering, I’m using the mystery copper cookie cutter I show earlier 🙂

Somehow I end up decorating all the chocolate ones cos I thought they bring out the white icing better!

And for the fun of it … 😛

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Christmas, Cookies, Festive Goodies. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Christmas Decorated Cookies

  1. ovenhaven says:

    I like the Christmas tree one; it looks very pretty 🙂

  2. Hi Elyn, your cookies are lovely 🙂 I am planning to have a cookie decorating session for my kids, niece and nephew during the coming school holidays…thanks for giving me the idea of using a bigger cutter…it will sure be easier for them to decorate 🙂

  3. ida says:

    wow… u’re fast! i’m still trying to figure out which recipe to use! LOL… great job with the icing.

  4. Elyn says:

    Hi Ovenhaven, thanks!

    Hi SH, that will be interesting! I’m sure the kids will enjoy it 🙂 Perhaps I shld do that with my nephew one day too.

    Hi Ida, have been waiting for the cutters ah so can’t wait to try them. Thanks … what I do is quite simple.

Leave a Reply

