Christmas Decorated Cookies Part III

After taking a week break from these lovely cookies, I can’t wait to try my hands on them again. Sadly I didn’t do a good job in the design part and instead of a medium egg, I use a large egg which makes the cookie softer than usual. For the past week, I was trying to find some time wanting to do some research and probably sketch out the design before I stare blank at the cookies not knowing wat to do with them, obviously I din hv the time. So in the end, I did the thinking on the spot, resulting in these anyhow-design cookies. For those who is giving a first try on decorating cookies, my recommendation is to have an idea what you want to design and perhaps limiting to a few cookie design, at least for a start.

 

The kiddo’s favourite – Gingerbread Man with mini M&Ms chocolates. I ordered this cookie cutter specially for my nephew, the cutter is only about 3 inches. Wanted to make some gingerbread man and girl for his classmate during this christmas. But I have no plan to use a gingerbread mix, will stick with chocolate. I wanted to get a red color icing initially but when I gradually add in the coloring, I decide to stop when it reaches the bright or you call it a shocking pink. This is definitely not in my usual color palette but I do admit this bright color perfectly suit the festive mood and I think the kids will love them?

 

This is a new snow flake design I recently bring in, smaller in size and the edges are also rounder. The blue is a layer of fondant, not too happy with this brand as it’s dry much easier. I’m going to try another brand, won’t want to make it myself thou it’s not too difficult. I also realise it’s not easy to knead in dark color, I couldn’t achieve the christmas red I wanted.

 

Holy Leave Cookie Cutter, on it is also a layer of white fondant, make sure your work area is clean and no other speck of cookie crumbs cos they easily stick onto the fondant. Work in a plastic bag! This design is simple, easier to make and I thought it look really pretty especially with the pink icing. This is definitely one of my favourite design 🙂

 

 Also the holy leave cookie cutter but I uses a leafy green icing in a stripe design.
Dress up with the white snow flake quins. I thought this look girlish 🙂

 

 My favourite candy cane cos it’s one of the easier to design?
Dress up with white snow flake and candy cane quin.

 

 I din do many with fondant nor flooding the cookie with royal icing. Fondant is really too sweet to be eaten like that and the fondant I have isn’t easy to roll to a really thin layer. Will try to do fondant again once I get hold of another brand. Just when I have the chance to use the silver dragees, I realise they have expired! so I stick with this super mini silver dragees. I think they will look better and more outstanding if it’s the bigger one.

 

 

 This is the gingerbread man pack I prepared for nephew 🙂
Need to think about how to improve the design and the different variations.

And finally … ready to give away!

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Christmas, Cookies, Festive Goodies. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Christmas Decorated Cookies Part III

  1. ida says:

    wow… u’ve been working hard! Love them all!

  2. These cookies are so colourful and pretty!!! I wonder what you will come up with if you had did some serious research! What you have done ‘on-the-spot’ are already soooo lovely 🙂

  3. Cyndi says:

    These are just “quickly” designed cookies? My couldn’t look as beautiful even with careful planning! I can’t wait to see your “researched” versions.

  4. crescent says:

    so pretty!! I can’t wait for my cutters to arrive!

  5. Caroline says:

    Your artworks on cookies are beautifully decorated. I love them all!

  6. Your cookies are beautiful…. I have yet to try those minnie & mickey mouse cookie cutters I bought from you *grin*.

  7. Aimee says:

    These are really, really well done. I’ve slaved over cookies many a Christmas and know the effort that goes into them. Hopefully this year I’ll be inspired again.

  8. kelsea says:

    hey! pretty cookies indeed! =) By the way, why are there a lighter brown and a darker brown colours of these cookies? Aren’t they both chocolate flavoured? =o And do you mind sharing the recipe for it? Hehehe. =)

  9. michelle says:

    hey! beautiful cookies u have thr (:
    & thanks for the pooh & piglet cookie cutters!

    tc

  10. Elyn says:

    Hi Ida, I can’t wait to see yours too!

    Hi SH, thank you 🙂 I thought the cookie decorations could be neater and definitely more variation.

    Hi Cyndi, small small baker, Caroline, Ling, Michelle thanks for your kind words 🙂

    Hi Crescent, coming soon!

    Hi Ai Mee, thank you for your compliments. Hope to see yours soon!

    Hi Kelsea, the dark brown are chocolates ones and the lighter color is just normal butter cookies.

  11. didally says:

    Very pretty cookies you have here. I want to try making some of these frosted cookies. Thanks for your generous tips on the piping tip. I would also think that I don’t need tips for such simple lines. Boy, I was wrong too. 😛

    I like your photography. May I know if you use flash, and then diffuse the light?

  12. Lynnette says:

    Hi!Your cookies are so eye-catching and spectacular!! Really brings out the colours of Christmas!!
    Could you share the chocolate cookies recipe?
    The dark brown background really brings out all the lovely colours!! =)

  13. sweet-tooth says:

    absolutely pretty!
    😀

  14. Dominique says:

    How do you get your cookies to maintain their shape so perfectly? Mine always turn out into sad little blobs after they bake 😦

Leave a Reply

