Mum’s birthday cake

Ā I seldom bake a whole cake cos I knew I always dun hv much luck, it’s either the top crack, the inside not cook or it does not rise properly. I baked a sponge cake once for my nephew’s birthday using another recipe, I’ve also tried Phoon Huat’s spongecake mix but they din turn out well. I was re-organising my bookshelf, yay … my recipes book are nicely laid out on the shelf now, more accessible. And I’m going to have new books this week when the package arrive. Agnes Chang – Baking Made Easy is one of the very first few books I bought, a pretty comprehensive that covers cake, bread and cookies. So I pick up the victoria spongecake recipe to try. Somehow I took a while to whip up the eggs + sugar combination, about 15 mins – not sure if it shld take that long? The rest of the process went on smoothly and this round I laid the tin with greaseproof paper, both the base and the side. The greaseproof paper on the side was laid much higher than the tin and when I place the tin inside the oven, I realise it’s so tall that I can’t see the cake when the oven door is closed šŸ˜› Well, lesson learnt!

The cake rose beautifully high and the top brown really evenly, it’s one of those occassional time that there isn’t brown spots! The sponge cake look soft and fluffy too.

I whipped up some non-diary whipping cream, added some sugar and begin to sandwich the cake with cream + peaches + cream. And finally it’s to frost the cake – I din have a lazy susan so I use the tray that comes with the oven – for rotating during baking to help me with the frosting. I’ve no clue what to do wif the cake – again! So I added some red color to the whipping cream to get a pretty pink, pipe some rosettes on the side and handwritten the word Happy Birthday. I was contemplating whether to buy the little Happy Birthday plastic tag earlier but decide against it and write my own! Hm … I think I did a better job in writing (using tip 1) than decorating šŸ˜›

Will update again when we cut the cake later šŸ™‚

This will mark another chapter of my baking journey.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Cakes. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Mum’s birthday cake

  1. Small cookie says:

    good job. I can never present such a pretty cake.

  2. Reena says:

    You are getting better at each bake! Great job!

  3. Ellena says:

    Wow… a nice an sweet cake… love those pink!!!

  4. Cecily says:

    Hi Elyn
    This is a lovely cake made with love šŸ™‚

  5. Anne says:

    The cake is so beautiful! Love the colours šŸ™‚

  6. ida says:

    congratulations on a job well-done! šŸ˜‰

  7. xan says:

    Great Job Elyn! I’m sure your mum enjoyed the cake.

  8. Hi Elyn, what a lovely cake you have made!!! I love those rosettes! well done!

  9. Adeline says:

    Hi Elyn
    Great job! My mom passed me that book by Agnes Chang and I plan to try the Victoria Cake recipe some time soon, when I have the courage. May I ask what brand of non-diary whipping cream did u use? I have been checking out supermarkets but haven’t noticed any non-diary whipping cream.

  10. Yan says:

    Ooooo…. i love the sight of the pretty cake. Happy belated bdae greetings to your Mom.
    =D

  11. Wow, great job! It’s so pretty šŸ™‚

  12. Teresa says:

    Hi Elyn,

    Been through your blog and it is great. I myself loves to bake too, hope to be able to gain from your experiences.

    I have just started my blog http://www.bakencooken.blogspot.com/ but is not as good at yours or some of those blogs that I have been. šŸ™‚

  13. ovenhaven says:

    This looks lovely! I love how the decoration’s simple yet so sweet. I’m sure your mom must’ve enjoyed this šŸ™‚

  14. Elyn says:

    Hi Edith, thanks! You did a much better job in cupcakes decorating!

    Hi Reene, Ellena, Cecily, Anne, Ida, Xan, SH, Yan, thecoffeesnob, ovenhaven – thanks so much for the encouragement. You gals are much better than me, have lots to learn!

    Hi Adeline, I’m bought mine non-diary whipping cream from Phoon Huat. The packaging has a picture of the cake in front. The other one I know is Pour and Whip, available at Cold Storage.

    Hi Teresa, I’m glad to share, we all learn from one another and good to see another new flog springing up too! Keep it up!! I will sure pop by šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

