An apple a day keeps the doctor away

There is always apples in the house and after watching Anna Olsen’s Sugar program on Friday, I decided to give it a try. Since I’ve not used Apples in any of my bakes, I’m curious how it taste like. The original recipe calls for cheddar cheese, dates and brown sugar which I omitted, the only thing I add is vanilla essence 🙂 and instead of whole-wheat flour, I replaced all with plain flour.

Again feeling lazy this weekend, what could be better than a wet and dry ingredients mix? Okay, I bake my favourite Hokkaido Milky Loaf yesterday and added a heap tbsp of peanut butter in it. I even hand knead the bread for a good 10 mins after the machine help to mix everything into a dough, this is one way to avoid getting my hands sticky with all the ingredients 😛 And I do think the bread is softer?

You need
1 egg
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1 cup milk
1 cup sugar minus 1 tbsp (I find that 1 full cup is a little too sweet)
2 cups all purpose flour
1 tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup apple, peeled and diced
1/2 tsp vanilla essence
 
Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees.
2. Whisk together egg, oil, milk and sugar.
3. In a separate bowl, sift flours, baking powder and salt and stir into egg mixture.
4. Fold in apples
5. Bake for 30 minutes.

Guess how many utensils I used in the whole preparation? I think probably one of the rare time that I use the least – one mixing bowl, one measuring jug, 1 spatula, 1 measuring cup and 1 tablespoon!

I do like this recipe cos the “sourness” of the apple gives the muffins a refresh taste and it’s so easy to prepare!

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Cupcakes/Muffins, Thots. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to An apple a day keeps the doctor away

  1. sweet-tooth says:

    the muffins look great!
    i like to bake muffins bcos of the little washing up to be done and the results they yield ;D
    haha
    will try this out when i’ve got apples on hand (:

  2. sweet-tooth says:

    hi!
    i just tried this recipe!
    lol
    cos i realised i still have an apple in my fridge, so i decided to bake this.
    their still in the oven, will tell you how they turn out 😉

  3. JOjo says:

    HI! I’ve tried your recipe and i loved it! all so baker-friendly and i can easily to get the ingredients.

    I’ve linked you up in my blog. Hope you can link me up too! =)

  4. I just got a bunch of apples over the weekend, so this recipe has perfect timing! It sounds delicious so I cannot wait to print it out and head to the kitchen.

  5. Aundrea says:

    Eello! This sounds really simple and delicious, I’ll definitely try it!

  6. Elyn says:

    Hi Aundrea, thanks for dropping by 🙂 Do give it a try!

Leave a Reply

