Yule Log

I very much wanted to make my own log cake last year but somehow it din materialise. And this year with myself going full swing into Christmas Cookies, Fruit Cake baking, it will be wonderful to complete it with a Yule Log – oh, one more Stollen! I saw this handmade stollen selling at Giant for almost S$20, I remember eating Stollen sometime back and love the sweet bread. As per wikipedia – Stollen is a bread-like cake traditionally made in Germany, usually eaten during the Christmas season. I saw another recipe on this bread, not sure if I have the time to do it?

Back to the Yule Log, after seeing how beautiful Ida did it, I was really motivated and with lots of encouragement and tips from her, I was ready to give it a try. She reassure me that it’s not that scary and you could imagine I have to ring her for help during the preparation process. I could not have make it without her 🙂 Thank you!!

This time the sponge cake is bake to perfect, she repeatedly remind me not to overbake! It’s soft and spongy and I will definitely substitute the cocoa powder with Valrhona cocoa powder the next time. I use a 3 egg combination and a 9″ X 9″ square tray, realise my oven could probably accomodate a 11″ tray. Use dark pitted cherries as the filling and filled with non-diary whipping cream. I wanted to whip up swiss meringue buttercream and was also toying with the idea of filling with Bailey’s Tiramisu cream but in the end decided to make sure that I have complete the most important path – getting the sponge cake right before attempting others. It’s not done to perfect and that’s lots of improvement area but for now, I’m definitely happy with what I’ve attempt 🙂

The berries and holly leaves is made with fondant.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Cakes, Christmas, Festive Goodies. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yule Log

  1. ida says:

    well done! it’s a great idea using fondant pieces for decor. 🙂

  2. Your Yule Log cake looks so Christmasy….Wishing you a Blessed Christmas and Happy New Year!

  3. Elyn says:

    Ida, thanks for your encouragement 🙂

    Hi Ling, thanks for your kind words 🙂 Merry Christmas to you and your family!

Leave a Reply

