Meringue Cookies

I borrowed this Hong Kong recipe book from the library and was very attracted to the meringue cookies inside. With some time on hand and left over egg whites, it just make sense to get some work done in the kitchen rather than sitting in front of the lappy 😛

They look really white and is like thick whipped cream when it’s ready to pipe out, so they stay in shape really well! I had so much fun piping them out 🙂 It’s easy to prepare but just that it really have a long bake time, despite having a hotter than usual oven, I took 40 mins to bake them.

They reminded me of the little biscuit we used to eat when we are young, those round little biscuit with colorful “cream” on top? And I remember that we will first bite off the super sweet cream on top and try to finish the biscuit. For this, I like how they “pop off” in the mouth, they are gone even before you know it!

Well, they’re really super sweet, will have to reduce the sugar drastically. Luckily I used a bitter sweet chocolate for the coating which help to balance out the taste. And despite using converture chocolate droplets, the chocolate din set. Anyway, the pack is finishing so there is an excuse to buy the other brand which I have long wanted to.

I still have some leftover egg whites so there will be another chance to try again and I already have ideas how it should be!

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Cookies. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Meringue Cookies

  1. Bernice says:

    Wow, they’re so gorgeous! I love how you decorate them with chocolate and dragees! Pretty!

  2. Jerry says:

    These are fabulous looking meringues!

  3. ovenhaven says:

    I love how you presented these; simply beautiful! 🙂 And doncha think that meringue cookies can be so addictive? I always just end up popping one after another :p

  4. Aimei says:

    It’s very pretty! I wonder how they taste like? Does it taste like those little cookies with colourful sugar flower on top like what you mentioned? 🙂

  5. Elyn says:

    Hi Jerry and Bernice, thanks for your compliments 🙂

    Hi Ovenhaven, thanks 🙂 but I find them really sweet!

    Hi Aimei, you’re right! they taste like those colorful cookies 🙂

  6. sweet-tooth says:

    These look absolutely pretty!
    Perhaps i should make some for my sister(and of course myself :P), she loves those colourful cookies 😉

Leave a Reply

