Happy Birthday, bro!

 

I’ve been feeling a little under the weather since the few days towards the end of the year and also the first few days. And I was really caught up wif other matters so there wasn’t baking done, much to my own disappointment. But how can I miss out my brother’s birthday cake? With the “success” of the sponge cake from the xmas log cake, I am more comfortable in baking sponge cake (once again, thanks so much to baking fiend for her generous tips and guidance). So here I’m with another sponge cake, used valrhona cocoa powder this round. Did a quick frosting with non-diary whip and did a simple decoration (again din plan beforehand) cos I’m running out of time. Well, sis think I really need to go for cake decoration class but she gave thumbs up for the cake, and so did the rest of the family. However they din like the pitted cherries filling and request for mixed fruits in future.

Earlier I’ve got problems setting the chocolate even thou I use converture so the other day when I pop by Phoon Huat I got the Bakeway Cocoa Block 250gm for less than S$2. And? it set really well, actually it set too fast now so have to do it asap, I wrote the birthday message in the melted chocolate and it’s so easy to write with that 🙂 So one problem solved!

Am feeling a little excited with the Chinese New Year bake in these coming week, 4 weekends before the CNY. Will be using a new oven and a new mixer this round which also mean it’s back to adjusting oven temperature. It’s time to pick up my lazy bones and get some work done!

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Cakes, Thots. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Happy Birthday, bro!

  1. Your cake is simple and nice. I like it…

  2. Small cookie says:

    another new toy? hehehehehe…. perhaps you guys can organised a sponge cake lesson coz I failed all the time. 😦

  3. Ida says:

    finally got the see the cake! it’s nicely done.. so neat! i’m sure everyone love it.

  4. sweet-tooth says:

    Your cake surface is so smooth 😀
    Looks very good!

  5. Reena says:

    Your cake looks great! Simple but nice. Let me know if there’s a sponge cake lesson, I want to attend too 😉

  6. ^cherie says:

    Very smooth surface gal! 😉

    Love the colour..

  7. ovenhaven says:

    Beautiful cake! I love the hue of the blue 🙂

  8. Elyn says:

    Ling, thanks 🙂 Din plan in advance so had to keep it simple.

    Hi Edith, definitly not me to organise sponge cake lesson *turn head to look for Ida*

    Ida, Sweet-tooth, Reena, Cherie and Ovenhaven, thanks for the kind words!

Leave a Reply

