Golden Gem

Pineapple Tarts is one of the staple cookies during CNY, definitely my family favourite too! There was a year which I dun hv time to bake and bought those ready-made ones which the family members din like. Home-made goods has the edge of being able to customise to your tastebuds.

I actually dread doing pineapple tarts cos the process involved but somehow everything is a breeze today! Probably becos of the round of practices last year and am more organise, knowing what to expect this round? The oven din even have a chance to rest, it was tray right after another tray. Somehow the baking experience is different from last year, it was a little more stressful last year but this year everything just move on its own, it’s leisure baking which I really enjoy it. The copper mould did take a few tarts to get it season but the wonderful thing is I din have to flour the mould at all. Using a different brand butter this year also give a slightly different dough texture which I had to adjust the flour proportion but everything went well.

I din get to prepare the pineapple paste this year but I din get from my usual supply either. I try another brand and was surprise that it isn’t as dry. Even after the tarts are baked, the pineapple jam remain a little moist.

I was over the cloud when I got the little star cutter last year and I have a new addition to the family this year, it’s a lovely 5-petal flower small cutter! When I saw it, I immediately know that it will be the perfect match to the pineapple tarts 🙂 Isn’t it pretty?

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, CNY, Cookies, Festive Goodies. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Golden Gem

  1. Ling's Passion says:

    Wow..looks like you have been doing a lot of baking. Your cookies looks delicious…

  2. Elyn says:

    Thanks Ling! Have been putting these bakes aside for a while so it’s just time to get it starting again 🙂

  3. mary says:

    hiya..lovely golden gem pineapple tart but mine always tend to dry and the texture is hard . May i know if u used the fan function oven or without the assistence of the fan and what the tempture to bake the tarts.Thanks

  4. Elyn says:

    Hi Mary, did you use store bought pineapple paste? If so, some of them tend to be drier and I have read that some pple do cook it again with butter. My oven does not have the fan function, I bake mine at 160 degrees for 17 mins. Hope this help!

  5. ida says:

    wah… you really got the ball rolling! will i get to taste those tarts??? *hint hint*

  6. mary says:

    thank you for yr tips..yes mine is the store bought ones..very tiring to cook the pineapple paste this year.
    Btw is yr pineapple tart the melt in yr mouth or the cruncy ones.

  7. didally says:

    Wow, your pineapple tarts looks so inviting. The little flower on top adds a very nice touch to it. =)

  8. Jennifer says:

    Hi Elyn,

    your pineapple tarts look gorgeous!

  9. Elyn says:

    Hi didally, thanks for your kind words 🙂

    Hi Jennifer, it’s been a while that I hear from you, hope everything is going well. Have you bake any CNY goodies this year?

  10. Jennifer says:

    Thanks Elyn, everything is well. Just a bit busy with work and kids. I had baked some pineapple tarts and kuih bangkit. Will be baking lapis next week.

  11. Emily says:

    Hi Elyn,
    You are really resourceful and always coming up with new ideas. I bought the tiny star cutter, after reading about it in your blog. May I know where did you get the tiny flower cutter? I also bought 5 mooncake moulds from you earlier on.

  12. ovenhaven says:

    I love how your pineapple tarts look so bright and sunshiny. Good to hear that you found yourself a reliable brand for the ready-made pineapple jam; I always end up with dry ones for Hari Raya!

  13. delia says:

    Elyn,
    Beautiful pineapple tarts you have there! I tried making those tarts this year. 1st round was quite ok but afraid that the jam would turn mouldy so make another batch. 2nd batch the jam was a bit too soft. Might make another batch again.

  14. Wendy says:

    Hi Elyn

    May I know where did u buy the cute small 5 petals flower cutter? Thanks

  15. Lynnette says:

    Hi Elyn
    Your tarts look very lovely and appetising at the same time!
    May I ask where did you get the cutters for the little stars and flowers on top? They really give the tarts a different look!

  16. Elyn says:

    Hi Jennifer, great to know you’ve baked some goodies too. In the midst of everything, do take care, ya?

    Hi Emily and Wendy, the flower cutter actually comes in 4 different sizes, actually they’re meant for fondant. I bought them from Taiwan. I hope you find the mooncake moulds a breeze to use 🙂

    Hi Ovenhaven, I bought mine from Ailin this year and find theirs is really moist compare to PH but I find it a little sour for my liking. What I read that is that some pple re-cook the ready-made filling with pineapple juice. HTH!

    Hi Delia, if the tarts turn mouldy, I understand that it’s becos you did not cook the jam long enough? So far I’ve kept the tarts up to a month in air-tight container and they’re still edible.

    Hi Lynette, the star cookie cutter is available at Phoon Huat but you’ve to ask the counter staff cos they dun put it on the shelf. As for the flower cutter, I got it from Taiwan 🙂

  17. Adeline says:

    Hi Elyn
    Very pretty pineapple tarts. This is one goodie that I made a lot of this year, my first year of CNY baking. Wishing you a prosperous Year of the Rat.

  18. gina says:

    Elyn, I set my LG to 180C and baked for 15 mins. And it made the pastry a bit dry on the outside and crumbles and melts in the mouth. I am much happier this year with the pineapple tarts and the LG. Yours looks so pretty too!

  19. yasmin yeong says:

    Hi Elyn
    Yr tarts looked so delish !! How do you keep your tarts fresh and taste good. I cooled mine completely, stored in air tight container, next day it became soft and did not taste as fresh. Do you have this problem? Hope u can help. Thanks.
    Yasmin

  20. Elyn says:

    Hi Adeline, thanks! Wish you a properous new year too!

    Hi Yasmin, I put the tarts in air tight container. Did you make sure the tarts are completely cool before keeping otherwise the tarts will absorb the moistness and become soft. I won’t say mine is still as crisp, they’re a little soft the next day.

  21. delia says:

    Hi Elyn,
    How much is the star cookie cutter?

  22. Elyn says:

    Hi Delia, I got it for S$9.50 from Phoon Huat.

  23. Irene Low says:

    The flower cutter is cute…
    Do u happen to remember which shop in Taiwan? Maybe i can get my fren to source for me…

    Thanks

    PS Phoon Huat sells heart shape cutters and it comes in 3 sizes. I only bot the star cutter from them…not cheap though for a tiny thingy cutter.

  24. Elyn says:

    Hi Irene, the flower shape cutter will be available in my next month catalog!

Leave a Reply

