Layer by layer

I have kind of complete my CNY trial bake so I’m set to give another try on making Kueh Lapis. I could still remember my first trial last year which I did half a portion of the recipe and I end up with 4 layers, and so I cheated by cutting the cake into half and there I have 8 layers! I sure din do this round, I really bake that many layers but I could not remember how many are there. I just pour, grill, pour and grill countless time and the whole process right from preparation to bake took 3 hours. I crack 9 eggs, use 2 mixing bowl to cream butter/sugar and the other one to whip egg whites. It really does take a lot of patience during baking cos every layer would be grill for just 6 mins then it’s out of the oven for the next one.

I took reference from a few recipes and concoct my own version cos I prefer mine to be more cakey and moist. I’ve cut down the sugar slightly so that the overall is not sweet and also did not follow the usual standard to press each layer down after each bake, I din want my cake to be compact so I only lightly press with the back of a spoon if I see bubble pop up.

So what is next? I recently borrow a Taiwan cookie book from the library and there are many interesting recipes which I hope to give it a try, should be able to that after next week!

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Cakes, CNY, Festive Goodies. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Layer by layer

  1. ida says:

    I salute you for the patience! I’ll be giving this a miss this yr… too much work! LOL…

  2. Elyn says:

    🙂 But the effort is definitely worth it!!

  3. Reena says:

    Great bakes! Love your pineapple tarts especially! Not baking Kueh Bangkit this year?

  4. Ida says:

    Happy CNY dear fren! May the new year brings you lots of happiness and prosperity!

  5. ovenhaven says:

    Happy Chinese New Year, Elyn! May the new year bring you much love and prosperity 🙂

Leave a Reply

