Rolled Oats and Chocolate Chip Cookies

I have always wonder how rolled oats will taste like when it’s part of a baking ingredient so I bought a packet when I chance upon it during my ingredients shopping before the New Year.

It’s actually my first time making such cookies – crisp on the outside and chewy inside, I’ve always prefer crispy cookies. We have been lunching regularly at this sandwich chain and the set meal comes with 2 giant cookies but I find them way too sweet that we can’t enjoy the cookie that much so I told my colleagues that I will make them one day.

I believe most of us have this habit, despite owning recipe books, we tend to neglect them and use trial and tested recipes posted by other. I have seen a couple of rolled oats recipe from the web but this round, I told myself I’m going to refer to my own collection for the recipe. I’ve always adore Williams-Sonoma baking book and the first baking book I got is “Essentials of Baking”. I like how detail and how well illustrated the recipes are and of course the beautiful pictures as well.

It’s quite a different experience preparing the dough, the proportion of sugar is more than the amount of butter and after adding an egg, the dough batter became pretty soft. I was quite skeptical if the cookie will turn out right. The dough turn out alright after adding in the flour and rolled oats except it’s kinda sticky. I used a tbsp measuring the amount of dough before putting on the baking tray then flatten the dough with the back of a spoon.

I tweaked the recipe slightly by omitting cinnamon, I’m not a fan of spices and also replace dark brown sugar with light brown sugar. I add in a handful of chocolate chips and ignore the raisins too. I was so tempted to add rum essence or Baileys inside but I din want to spoil the Nielson-Massey Madagascar Bourbon Pure Vanilla Extract and indeed I could smell the aroma of the vanilla extract during the preparation stage and after the cookies are baked. I would try adding a little more for future baking. Initially I did wonder if the vanilla is that good but after trying it personally, this is so much purer than the normal ones, definitely worth every cent.

The cookies brown faster than I expected (it maybe becos of my oven thou I have lower the temperature to 160 degrees and baked at 13 mins instead of of 15 to 20 mins) so they’re a little more crispy than I expected. I’m also glad that I’ve reduce the sugar slightly, the sweetness is just right. It’s also a little chewy on the side which is what I wanted.

Looking at the proportion of the ingredients I was contemplating if I shld do a full recipe or half it and luckily I did cos it yields 38 cookies!

You need :
120g plain flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/8 tsp salt
65g butter
100g light brown sugar
50g caster sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla essence
70g rolled oats
1 cup chocolate chips

To do :
1. Combine butter, brown sugar and caster sugar and beat until smooth. (I use a handheld mixer).
2. Add the eggs and vanilla essence and beat on low speed until well blended.
3. Fold in dry ingredients until well incorporated.
4. Add in rolled oats and chocolate chips and mix well.
5. Drop the dough by heap tbsp onto prepared baking sheets, spacing them apart. The cookies will spread during baking.
6. Bake the cookies until they’re evenly light brown and tops feel firm when lightly touched for 15-20 mins at 180 degrees.
7. Let the cookies cool on the baking sheet for 5 mins before transfering to wire rack to cool completely. (The cookies will fall apart if you immediately remove the cookie from the baking sheet).
8. Store in air-tight container at room temperature for up to 3 days.

Recipe adapted from Williams-Sonoma : Essentials of Baking

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Cookies. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Rolled Oats and Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Rebecca says:

    Hi Elyn! Your cookies look really fabulous. I’m salivating just looking at the pics on the monitor. Did you use parchment paper for lining the tray?

  2. Elyn says:

    Hi Rebecca, thanks for your kind words. I’m using the silicone baking sheet here, I realise it’s quite sticky so am not sure if it will stick onto parchment paper.

  3. Small cookie says:

    Elyn, nice bake. I would love to try this out once I clear all my CNY goodies.

    Have something for you. Check it out. http://preciousmoments66.blogspot.com/2008/02/keeping-it-alive.html

  4. Angela says:

    Hmm..looks yummy..can i know why mine is always stick to B.paper after baked?

  5. Aimei says:

    Hi Elyn, “Essentials of Baking” is my first baking book too! Like what you said, we tend to go for those tried and tested recipes on the web than trying out the recipes from books. I’ve not tried many from the book too, though I must say it’s really a pleasure reading and drooling at the pictures. I like the cookies that looked so puffy and yummy.

    Btw, I’ve tagged you for a meme. Hehe, check this out. http://mybakingcottage.blogspot.com/2008/02/meme.html

  6. Elyn says:

    Hi Edith, thanks for the award 🙂 You could try adding some raisins in, thot it will taste better.

    Hi Angela, I do realise the dough is rather sticky at the end so I also suspect it will stick onto parchment paper. I baked mine on silicone baking sheet by Phoon Huat which is at S$4 plus per sheet and reusable. You might like to give it a try, I’ve been baking my cookies on this and have absolutely no problem.

    Hi Aimei! I’m a regular visitor to your blog too! You’ve got lovely bakes there 🙂 Will check out the meme 🙂

  7. Emily says:

    Hi Elyn,
    As I’m very new to blogging and I visit your blog frequently, I have also tagged you in my meme.
    http://playkeen.blogspot.com/2008/02/meme.html

  8. sweet-tooth says:

    These look yummy!
    Chocolate chip cookies are next on my to-do list 😉

  9. Elyn says:

    Hi Sweet-tooth, do share what you think of the cookies when you have bake them!

  10. Olivia says:

    Hi Swet-tooth these cookies look marvellous. Thank you for sharing the recipe with us. Will definitely be trying out this recipe soon.

    Cheers
    Olivia

Leave a Reply

