Mixed Fruits Bread

I like mixed fruits and since I’ve not been bake bread for a long time, this will be the perfect opportunity to “marry” them together! Whether the recipe call for or not, I will always soak the mixed fruits in hot water for a short while to rinse away the dirt, to puff up the fruits and also to reduce the over sweetness in it.

 

I was flipping through Alex Goh “The World of Bread” and spotted “Mixed Fruits Plait”. I used the breadmaker to form the dough and knead for the first round before I bring out to hand knead for another 20 mins. After that much of kneading, the bread did not pass window pane test but I din want to knead further and quickly add in the mixed fruits before proofing in the oven at 40 degrees for 25 mins. Took out dough, roll into long strips and leave it inside the silicone bundt pan for second proofing in the oven as well. I din want to wait for that long so this way of proofing will be the fastest. Toking about this silicone bundt pan, this is definitely one of my favourite baking pans which I have used it for baking, making cold desserts and even steaming! I like how the wavey pattern the bundt pan gives but it’s a little shallow, it will be better if it’s deeper. I added the almond flakes before putting the dough in.

I didn’t follow the recipe exactly, I substituted the water with milk, also replace 30g of bread flour with cake flour. I wasn’t confident if the bread will turn out alright as the dough din pass the window pane test but surprisingly it came out soft, just that I din add enough mixed fruits and I guess it will taste better if it’s a little sweeter?

You need :
(A)
220g Bread flour
30g Cake flour
35g sugar
1/2 tsp salt
10g Milk Powder
2 tsp instant yeast

(B)
1 Egg
100ml milk

(C)
30g butter

(D)
120g Mixed Fruits

To do
1. Washed the mixed fruits, squeeze out excess water and leave it to air dry.
2. Mix (A) till well blended, add (B) and knead to form a dough.
3. Add (C) and continue to knead to form a smooth and elastic dough.
4. Add (D) and mix till well blended. Let it prove for 60 mins or till double size.
5. Shape dough as desired and let it rest for 10 mins.
6. Leave the dough for 2nd proofing or till double size.
7. Brush with egg wash and bake at 180 degrees for 20 mins.

Recipe adapted from Alex Goh – The World of Bread

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Bread. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mixed Fruits Bread

  1. This bread looks beautiful!!!

  2. Bernice says:

    Agree with happy homebaker that the bread looks beautiful! Am tempted to get one of such pan as well. 😀

  3. sweet-tooth says:

    The bread looks so pretty!
    A bundt pan is on my must buy list and i’m hoping to get a silicon one too(:
    Any suggestions where i can find silicon bundt pans?
    Thanks!

  4. Elyn says:

    Thanks SH! The bread remain soft even the next day but it’s kinda yellowish, not sure why?

    Hi Bernice, select one that you think you will use it most often. At least that is what I do cos they’re aren’t exactly cheap but it’s definitely a worthy buy 🙂

    Hi Sweet-tooth, there are limited silicone ware in SG, aside from the usual PH, Pantry Magic will the other place to visit, I got mine from there too!

Leave a Reply

