Almost there!

This story start with 5 egg yolks.

  I already have in mind what to bake for this weekend since Wednesday- none other than Chiffon Cake. Probably becos I bought another chiffon cake book recently, it’s a really good deal that I took it without second thought moreover it’s by one of my favourite author – 曾美子. It started with borrowing 曾美子的黃金比例蛋糕 from the library and I love the light fruit cake recipe inside. Despite having a few chiffon cake recipe on hand and many easily found on the web, I decide I will take reference from the book but I replace the water with coconut milk and replace the rum with 1 tsp pandan essence.

 

Rather than saying that this is a therapeutic bake, I would say it as stressful since I’ve one failed attempt and I’m not very confident of beating egg whites. Well, I overwhip the first 5 egg whites, it look soft peak when I lift up the whisk so I left it for another few mins and they look like a pool of clouds! Since I’ve already have the egg yolk mixture ready, I break up another 5 eggs and was really careful not to overwhip this round, finally I got it right. I took great care not to overfold the egg white + flour mixture.

I bake it at 150 degrees for 30 mins and the cake crack slightly in the last 5 mins so now I know I will set at 150 degrees for the first 20 mins and lower the temperature to 140 degrees for the last 20 mins 🙂

The cake isn’t as fluffy as I thot it will be, not sure if it’s the ingredients proportion combination but sure taste/smell good enough. It’s also slightly on the sweet side so I will have to reduce the amount of sugar. I would not say this is successful but definitely another attempt in my baking journey.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Cakes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Almost there!

  1. Bernice says:

    I love pandan cake! I’ve been wanting to make them but was distracted with other things. Yours looks great, love the green.:D

  2. Ida says:

    very good attempt! can imagine biting into the soft and fluffy cake. yum yum

  3. Elyn says:

    Thanks Bernice! Mine has plenty of room for improvement, going to try Orange Chiffon Cake next.

    Thanks Ida! Sad to say it din turn out that well, not sure if it’s the recipe or it’s me?!

Leave a Reply

