Surprises …

The intention of making cookies today is to try out the cookie press, I din have a recipe on hand and somehow could not find one too! I thot the melting moments recipe will be good to try since it’s not too hard but I din realise that if it’s too soft, it can’t be “press” out. The first few ones I try came out as flat as a pancake 😛 So I had to put them in a piping bag and pipe them out. They look pretty before they are bake, they taste best after they are bake! The cookies expand slightly hence the swirls are also gone, initally I was worried that the swirls may be too brittle and there is only the swirl tip I have but looking at the baked cookies, isn’t the right decision?

I wasn’t looking forward to the baked cookies but I was wrong, the cookie is a little crisp on the outside and crumble when you bite into. The buttery taste isn’t overwhelming as well. I added vanilla essence and lemon cream essence as well but I could hardly tell the lemon essence, would love to add in lemon zest if I could get it from the market this morning. My family loves the cookies and a tray is already gone!

I was playing wif the camera setting earlier and test-shot the above, surprisingly it came out better than expected, thot it has a “serene” feel. I certainly need to brush up my photoshoot skill!

On another note, prices of butters have gone up a fair bit. The usual Anchor butter I’m using used to retail at S$3.40 for 450g but it’s not S$4.50 and I heard from my regular baking supply shop that prices are going to go up further, looks like it’s time to stock a few more blocks.

You need :
112g softened unsalted butter
25g icing sugar
1/4 tsp vanilla essence
112g plain flour
1 1/2 tbsp corn flour

To Do :

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 175 degrees.
  2. Cream butter, icing sugar and vanilla essence together until light and fluffy.
  3. Fold in sifted plain flour and corn flour.
  4. Use a 1cm fluted nozzle and piping bag, pipe the mixture on greaseproof paper, keeping 3cm apart.
  5. Bake for 10 to 12 mins until golden.
  6. Allow the cookies to firm up slightly before transferring them to a wire rack to cool.

 Makes 20 pcs of cookies

Source : 500 cookies by philippa vanstone

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Cookies. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Surprises …

  1. Ida says:

    Sorry to hear that the cookie press din work well. in the end it still work out well, yah? nice photos!

  2. Ling's Passion says:

    This reminds me of those butter cookies that I used to make for CNY when I was in school. With so many variety of cookies these days I have almost forgetton this one. Thanks for this post.

Leave a Reply

