Chocolate Mousse Peach Cake


 Most of the time I bake rather impromptu, on a weekend morning I will flip thru the recipe books I have or blog-hop then it will strike me that I will bake this so I’m quite well stock on the basic ingredients. Sis only told me to bake a cake on Thursday and I din decide what to bake till last night that is – Chocolate Banana Cake. Oh well, the bunch of bananas sure din wait for me to use them and turn soggy the next day so I change it to Chocolate Mousse Peach Cake. The sponge cake was baked using the PH Chocolate Sponge Cake Mix, hm … I dunno why I bought that packet. It was just adding eggs and water to the dry mixture and whipped till ribbon stage, which is like 8 mins on high speed. I first pour a little to the melted butter, fold in before adding back to the mixture and give a few fold. I thought this method is much easier and faster. I dun quite like the sponge cake texture thou.

Using a lazy susan, it’s also pretty easy to slice the cake into half and it was a flat top! I was following the new video CD that I recently bought from Taiwan. I initially wanted to slice into 3 layers but the cake doesn’t look tall enough to do so. The next step is to prepare the mousse which require a fair bit of ingredients and in different steps but I’m glad that all went well! I used a non-dairy whipped cream for the mousse so it tasted quite light, it’s really yummy!

I only realise I shld have slice the cake into 3 when I try to stack the cake! The first layer was a little heavy so some of the mousse came oozing out from the sides 😛 As expected, I left over with lots of mousse and so I cover the side and top with it too, the inital plan is to do a chocolate ganache. It’s actually the first time I’m preparing Chocolate Ganache and it’s definitely manageable, another attempt done! I leave the ganache to cool off before pouring over the cake, the idea is to leave the chocolate dropping down. Unfortunately I didn’t have a very smooth chocolate top and is wondering why? It doesn’t help that I’m nursing a migraine so all I want is to quickly get over it. I added silver dragees and 2 hearts in the middle, it’s all over!

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Cakes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chocolate Mousse Peach Cake

  1. Ida says:

    the cake looks delicious. Maybe the choc ganache is has cooled down too much or that the cake itself is cold, ‘cozing the ganache to “harden” fast.

    Hope yr migraine has gone. 🙂

  2. Elyn says:

    U’re right! *the expert have spoken* I took the cake out from the fridge and I left the ganache to cool a fair bit! I’m not sure if the ganache is too thick too? I shld have added some butter into the mixture (which I read from some recipes). Nevertheless, it’s another attempt!! And after trying the cake, I do like this frosting 🙂

Leave a Reply

