Toot toot train pancakes

I try not to buy those pancake premix, firstly becos we may not be able to finish it in time and I dun want to think about the preservatives inside. So I have been looking for a pancake recipe which uses readily available ingredients, no buttermilk etc. And I finally found one, just one egg, milk, sugar, flour and baking powder, I added a fair bit amount of good vanilla essence as well.

I’m not a pancake lover, dread the idea of bringing nephew to Mcdonalds for hotcakes meaning I always end up having to eat the extra pancakes BUT I thot this is really good! Nephew love it, my little doggy love it and I love it too! My nephew was happily helping himself to the pancakes when he walk in and out of the kitchen, I can’t describe how glad I am when I see that. And my little doggy was getting herself busy following him around and I like that I could feed the dog with a ease of mind cos I know wat’s inside. I like the light fragrance of the vanilla but I thot it will be better if it’s a little puffier? also probably becos I pour the batter too thick into the mould?

I bought those star metal pancake mould before, those with a handle that allows you to lift it out from the pan but I’ve not been very lucky with that tool becos no matter how well I oil, it tend to stick to the pancake, probably becos of the sharp corner? I chance upon this when I pop by Daiso the other day, I first saw a chicken shape silicone mould and I give it a pass but when I caught this train mould, I knew I must buy it (it’s the last one!). I knew nephew will love this! And it’s really much easier to use, it doesn’t stick and I’ve no problem flipping to the other side together with the silicone mould, I could twist and turn, pull the mould so I won’t spoil the pancake. Along with this, I bought a small spatula with a bended tip which means it’s easier to scrape out leftovers from tins etc. I almost wanted to get it sometime back for like S$12 plus, of course that is from a famous brand and now it’s for S$2, so no reasons not buying, right?

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Baking tools, Cakes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Toot toot train pancakes

  1. Ida says:

    these are so cute! share wif me the recipe ah? my kids are fans of mac’s hotcakes… and i love it too! 😛

  2. Caroline says:

    Wow – do share with us the recipe – my kids love pancakes. I used premix type often. Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

