Viennese Chocolate Sables

This is a pretty simple cookie from Chocolate Desserts by Pierre Herme using the basic combination e.g. flour, icing sugar but uses egg white instead of egg yolk. I’ve used Valrhona cocoa powder in this case, which is also what is recommended. I love this Dutch-processed 100% unsweetened cocoa powder for the intense and pure flavour and in this recipe, I use a mere 15g.

The original recipe call to pipe in a “W” method but I pipe in a rosette form and top with almond nibs which add a little crunch and nutty flavour. The open flower tip I bought is kinda small so the cookies came out pretty tiny, about 25mm diameter. I’m going to try using other tip to pipe them another day.

 

I like that the cookie does not have a too strong buttery flavour. The good quality cocoa powder used here gives the cookies a very deep and chocolatey taste. Do not expect these cookies to be just another chocolate cookies, it’s not sweet and comes with a little bitterness actually. A perfect start for a busy week ahead!

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Cookies. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Viennese Chocolate Sables

  1. katherine says:

    my my. the cookies look so pretty! will definitely give the recipe a shot someday =)

  2. Caroline says:

    Very impressive and good baking design! 🙂

  3. These are gorgeous! I can’t pipe to save my life but it sounds like such a great way to use up those egg whites.

  4. rebecca says:

    Wow elyn! Your pictures are getting better and better. I’ll still struggling with my Canon camera. PH’s books are among my favourites. Your post has reminded me to bake more from them. Hee, that’s the problem with owning books. Very fond I’ll only bake a few recipes from each book.

    Btw, can i find out how thick did you roll for the green tea cookies? I baked some today but have to increase the baking time to 17 mins. Guess I used too big a cutter. I’ve rolled to 1/2 inch thick.

  5. Maya says:

    Elyn:
    Those are just perfect!

  6. ovenhaven says:

    Oh my god. I’m still nursing a craving for a particular chocolate viennese finger I used to have when I was younger, and have yet to find it anywhere! This looks really good; can you email me the recipe please?

    Btw sweetie, I’ve mailed you enquiries pertaining your Shop N Bake items; get back to me when you’re free, okay? 🙂

  7. Mima says:

    Hi Elyn,

    I love this cookie, would u mind sharing the recipe with me please… Thanks you so much
    my email address is as follow :
    ms_halimah@hotmail.com

  8. Elyn says:

    Hi Katherine, Caroline and Maya, thanks for yor kind words 🙂

    Hey thecoffeesnob, it’s not difficult to pipe these, just go round the circle, give it a try!

    Hi Rebecca, I’m still fiddling wif my camera 😛 I think a lot of us have the same habit of not using our own recipe books so at times I will pick one book and tell myself to pick one recipe from there to try, it works! I roll the green tea cookies to 0.5cm thick.

Leave a Reply

