The chocolate fix

This have been on my “wanting to bake” list for the longest time thou I’ve not tried one till last week at TCC. It became a “must bake” item when I get my hands on the ramekins but somehow this have been delay and delay again. I was having this disturbing migraine for the whole week, it’s not so bad that I need to pop the medicine but it’s just there. I was looking for a “comfort” food to make myself feel better and after a nap this afternoon, I thought it’s time to move my butt and get something done! What could be better than a chocolate fix?

The ramekins are a little on the big side so I don’t have a tall cake and I felt this dessert should be eaten in a smaller portion, it’s really very filling. There are many recipes on the web and one actually call to whip up the egg white before adding in, the other one is to whip the eggs separately but this recipe shared by a friend is a one-bowl concept. I melt the chocolate and butter in the microwave, whisk in the sugar, add in the eggs, whisk in the flour and it’s ready to go into the individual ramekins.

I wasn’t sure if I could achieve the gooey chocolate inside so I make sure I don’t overbake it. Just 13 mins and I bring out from the oven and there is no way to test if this bake cos the inside is suppose to be gooey! This cake should be eaten warm, paired with a scoop of vanilla ice-cream (of course the more the merrier!). It’s just so satisfying!

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Cakes. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The chocolate fix

  1. Cyndi says:

    I *iove* your blog! I’ve been following for awhile and finally decided to comment. The cake looks absolutely delish! I wish I could take a bite out of the molten center!

  2. I have been wanting to bake this kind of cake for a long long time too…the problem is, I dont seems to be able to find the right timing to serve it 😦

  3. xan says:

    OMG this looks absolutely mouth watering! does it taste very eggy? i tried 1 of the recipes from another blog before but it was vtoo eggy to my liking.

  4. Elyn says:

    Hi Cyndi, thanks for dropping a note 🙂 It’s certainly encouraging to know that!

    Hi HHB, hm … very very sinful dessert. Imagine the amount of chocolate and eggs inside but it’s really satisfying, it’s alright as an occasional treat. I thought this serve best as an afternoon tea dessert?

    Hi Xan, no … it doesn’t taste eggy. I am using 2 eggs and 2 egg yolks in this recipe.

  5. Ida says:

    wow… u finally did it! and yes, this is best eaten in REALLY small portions. LOL…. beautifully photographed too! good job.

  6. Elyn says:

    Ida – Yes, finally right? It’s so sinful and agree that it must be eaten in smaller portions cos it’s really filling! Thank you for your kind words ^_*

  7. Liên says:

    Please give me the recipe of this cake. Yummy.

Leave a Reply

