Palm Sugar Panna Cotta

From Wikipedia – Panna cotta is an Italian dessert made by simmering together cream, milk and sugar, mixing this with gelatin, and letting it cool until set. An Italian phrase which literally means “cooked cream”, it generally refers to a creamy, set dessert from the Northern Italian region of Piedmont. It is eaten all over Italy where it is served with wild berries, caramel or chocolate sauce. It is not generally known exactly how or when this dessert came to be, but some theories suggest that cream, for which mountainous Northern Italy is famous, was historically eaten plain or sweetened with fruit or hazelnuts.

I first have this dessert at the little mint toy museum cafe at Seah Street, they were served in little tall glasses which look really dainty. Btw, I think their set lunches is value for money, we love the mushroom soup (not the usual can soup taste) and I had a really good chicken lasagne there, unfortunately they took this down from the menu.

 

I didn’t want to sweat myself in front of the mixer/oven and something cold will be the perfect companion for this weather. Goggled and found a recipe and Little Corner of Mine have also try it, the recipe seems manageable, there isn’t many steps involved and what’s most important that I have the all the ingredients on hand except palm sugar which I easily got from the market later. This will be a easy dessert to prepare, chill it in the fridge and pour the palm sugar syrup when it’s ready to serve.

The texture isn’t as firm as what I have tried at the cafe, I would say it’s soft and silky. Palm Sugar also known as coconut sugar or Gula Melaka gives a lovely coconut scent when eaten together with the cream. It didn’t taste as rich as what I have tried, this is lighter which I prefer and probably because I use Meiji low-fat milk and non diary whipping cream!

I didn’t give the dessert enough time to set and probably the texture is not firm, so after a while I realise the palm sugar syrup seep underneath the panna cotta. I would prefer the syrup to be thicker and it’s really sweet so just add a little bit will do, I have added too much in this case 😛

Ingredients :
70g fresh milk (Original recipe calls for 100ml and I use Meiji low-fat milk)
200ml fresh cream (I use non-diary whipping cream)
20g palm sugar
7g powder gelatin + 1/4 cup or 50ml water

For syrup
40g palm sugar
1/4 cup or 50ml water

To do :
1. Add fresh milk, fresh cream and palm sugar into a pot and bring to boil (stir firmly during cooking). Remove from heat
2. Combine gelatine powder with the water and add into the pot. Stir until gelatine is dissolved. (I dissolve the gelatin in the water by double-boiling first before adding into the cream mixture).
3. Place the pot into a container that contains ice cube and cold water and stir the mixture until it cool.
4. Pour the mixture into glasses. Freeze for at least 1 hour or chill overnight.
5. For the syrup:- Add palm sugar and water into a pot and bring to boil.
6. Before serve, pour the syrup on the surface of the panna cotta.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Desserts. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Palm Sugar Panna Cotta

  1. Ida says:

    WOW… new template! love it….

    and another WOW…. looks really delicious, the panna cotta. Beautifully photographed too. I also did a cool dessert this week, and that’s all I can manage in this warm weather.

  2. didally says:

    I like this new template too, very neat.

    Panna Cotta is like in my to-do list for very long. What brand of non-dairy whipping cream do you use? I’m confused with dairy and non-dairy whipping cream.

  3. Elyn says:

    Hi Ida, thank you 🙂 I love how you play with the color of your agar agar too.

    Hi didally, thanks 🙂 I use Phoon Huat whipping top cream – under Redman brand and has a picture of the cake outside. It took me a long time to differentiate between the 2 too. Non-diary whipping cream has vegetable oils whilst diary is milk fat but both has about 35% of it. The significant difference between the 2 is the taste – diary is richer and full in taste and to me it has a strong milk taste whilst non-diary is lighter and is sweetened. Diary is cream in color and non-dairy is whiter. HTH!

  4. ovenhaven says:

    I love the containers! Is it just me, or are the tops a kinda lopsided? Where’d you find such gems?

  5. Elyn says:

    Hi Ovenhaven, u’re so observant! The container is of a very irregular shape, the top and bottom is not parallel, twist against one another direction – hope this make sense. I got these 2 containers from a dessert tasting session so I’m not sure where to buy it too, will let u noe if I do 😛

  6. xan says:

    Hi Elyn

    luv the new look on your blog. very professionally done 🙂

  7. didally says:

    Thanks Elyn on your detailed explanation on the 2 types of cream. Cos I usually go supermarket to buy my stuffs and I’m not sure what type of cream, like single, pure, double.. they all make me confused. haha..

  8. Rebecca says:

    A yummy dessert for the hot weather 🙂

  9. Alice says:

    Hi Elyn,

    This panna cotta dessert is delicious and my colleagues simply loved it!! Thanks again for your advice on the whipping cream and for sharing this recipe. 🙂

    Btw, wonder whether you’ve any recipe on tiramisu or maybe have you try making it?

Leave a Reply

